Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

complete newbie can't get pedal off

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-13, 08:18 PM
pureland

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Have had my road bike about a year now and am thinking about upgrading my pedals. The bike has Shimano pd-r540 pedals. I am trying to remove them but they won't budge. Should I be using the hex wrench which fits in the hole on the axle, or just a bike wrench, or both? They have never been removed since I bought the bike, so I know they might be tight, but I don't want to force it too much. Thanks!
Old 06-15-13, 08:31 PM
fietsbob
Banned

Bikes: 8

Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Quoted: 7607 Post(s)
Liked 1,355 Times in 862 Posts
You realize the Left pedal is left hand threaded correct?

Open end pedal wrenches are about 4mm thick with a 15mm opening and a foot long
if there is an allen hex socket you may need a rather long Allen wrench, or an allen bit in a socket wrench.
Old 06-15-13, 09:01 PM
Andrew R Stewart 

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Mongoose Tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder, Stewart 650B ATB

Quoted: 4199 Post(s)
Liked 3,851 Times in 2,301 Posts
Place your chain on the large ring before you put max force on any pedal wrench, far better to punch the chain links then the ring's teeth. Andy.
Old 06-15-13, 10:04 PM
Inertiaman

Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
We've all been there. Pedals can be difficult sometimes.