Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Need opinions on this bike, and help choosing new equipment!

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-12, 02:42 AM
trekfxrider

Bikes: 2011 Trek 7.5 fX

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I want to say this is really my first time posting outside of the introductions section.
Also, I'm relatively new to the biking world, in terms of working on/upgrading etc.

I probably got screwed over on a purchase.
I paid $200 for this bike, which was pieced together and may have been a stupid purchase on my behalf, although I'm not afraid to admit it.

It has a model number of TBI-0406. Which appears to be a trek 2000. Not sure on the year. But I know the absolute latest it could be is 2003.
It appears to be a road bike frame from just looking around.

Now the question is, if it's okay to continue to use this as MTB frame, or am I asking to hurt myself? If it's safe, then I'm looking to get some new equipment.
It's got a worn out Shimano Acera RD, a worn Shimano 7-Speed V-brake shifter/cables, as well as a worn rear cassette. It's got a North Shore DH crankset, and whats supposed to be a marzocchi front fork. Only number I could find on it was. "T03D0912" That's got about 140mm of travel.
It's a 1x7 and not determined to keep it that way seeing as I'm dropping my chain left and right.