Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

Frequency of power meter

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

Frequency of power meter

Old 02-13-23, 12:56 AM
SmplRsrchr

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Frequency of power meter

Hi,
I am new to this topic, and if anybody could help me, I would be grateful.
We are trying to do academic research by utilizing power meters. Right now, we are in possession of the “QUARQ DZERO DUB POWER METER”.
The problem is the frequency, and at least for normal commercial applications, we can’t get anything better than 1 Hz, which is nowhere near enough.
Has anyone had any experience with a better frequency while using power meters?
Thanks.

Last edited by SmplRsrchr; 02-13-23 at 02:59 AM.
Old 02-13-23, 07:54 AM
unterhausen
Randomhead

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 3,662 Times in 2,496 Posts
The problem with power meters is they are meant to measure power of a cyclic power application which is then sent to a display/storage device. A 60hz upper limit seems a bit weird, it's not uncommon for people to pedal at twice that. Otoh, if it gives you data for the entire time, but only at 60 hz rate, that makes sense because the data doesn't need to be updated to the rider any faster than that.

You may possibly be the first engineers in history that looked at power meters and didn't immediately think they could make one, no problem. I commend you for that. But you might have to make one.
I don't know how the bottom bracket power meters for ebikes work. It's possible one of them would be more useful though, if it's just raw strain data.
Old 02-13-23, 09:25 AM
adamrice 
mosquito rancher

Bikes: Bob Jackson 853 Arrowhead; Felt VR30; Kinesis UK RTD; Hujsak tandem

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)