Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Change shifter?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Change shifter?

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-20, 07:29 AM
tk1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Change shifter?

hi all, first time poster here, what a great and healthy community.

i'm just a simple day to day cyclist, appreciate it as a form of transportation but limited in bike lingo and mechanical knowledge.

i recently purchased a great minimalist looking bike to my liking, everything is great except the shifter levers that came with it is bugging the crap out of me (i'm a pro designer, so certain aesthetic requirements are necessary

its a 7-speed that came with a set of "Shimano EF500, EZ-Fire Plus"

not only its bulky and inelegant (they look like a set of alien eyes to me, its also taking up so much room on my handle bar that i can't mount my lights and my cell holder.

do you guys have a recommendation for shifter level replacement thats slim/small and minimalist looking?

can i just use any 7-speed shifter levers? will i also have to change the derailleur (Shimano Tourney TX800)?

it seems the shifter is attached to the brake levers, does this mean i should be looking at a good shifter/brake combo replacement?

lastly, can you please recommend a good online tutorial on how to change the shifter/levers myself?

thank you all very much! really appreciate it!
Old 03-06-20, 07:47 AM
freeranger

Bikes: 06 Lemond Reno, 98 GT Timberline mtn.bike

Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked 699 Times in 436 Posts