Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Anti-bobbing - is it a problem still for FS?

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-21, 10:08 PM
alex.martian

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I'm newbie here not allowed to add links. I've read wikipedia on suspensions and read for FS problems are (were) bobbing (when pedaling), squat (when braking) and kickback I understood from some video is when rear goes up pedals rotate opposite direction (wiki as error? should be corrected? calls kickback same thing as bobbing).
My main concern is with bobbing, cause I currently use hard tail for both city and some hills riding (and want to switch to FS). Web search for bobbing, anti-bobbing surprisingly for me returned links only for anti-squat. Is bobbing thing of the past and not an issue for modern FS geometry+shock absorbers? Geometry I mean e.g. horst-link, Yeti SB150, Transition.

I understand having pivot point on the level of upper line of chain on the front chainwheel (with 1x12 setup) counters bobbing. Right? But seams to me that is only for middle sprockets gear in the rear (I recall reading about it, but not sure). Why not put pivot even higher to take care of largest one in the rear? What are cons for that? (For that Yeti absorber it pointed forward, to it would rotate down more, but there are many FS with absorbers located vertically like Transition for which I do not immediately see cons).

Last edited by alex.martian; 05-23-21 at 12:02 AM.
Old 05-22-21, 10:51 PM
AdkMtnMonster
Airplanes, bikes, beer.

Bikes: Road bikes, mountain bikes, a cx bike, a gravel bike…

Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked 788 Times in 339 Posts