Search
Notices
Classic and Vintage Bicycles: Whats it Worth? Appraisals. Use this subforum for all requests as to "How much is this vintage bike worth?"Do NOT try to sell it in here, use the Marketplaces.

Vintage Trek Road Bike Value Model?

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-22, 05:17 PM
BikingViking793 

Bikes: 2015 Felt Z75 Disc, 2008 Fuji Cross Comp, 2010 Trek Navigator 1.0, 1974 Raleigh Sports, 1974 Schwinn Le Tour, 1981 Schwinn Super Le Tour, Surly Cross Check, 2021 Giant Talon 2

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 202 Post(s)
Liked 71 Times in 60 Posts
Vintage Trek Road Bike Value Model?

Hello. I found a vintage Trek road bike that interests me, but I'm not an expert on old Treks. The previous owner of the bike is deceased so the seller doesn't know everything about the bike. The frame has no model number listed on it anywhere. It must be a pretty good bike though as the frame is Reynolds 531 and components are Campagnolo Nuovo Record. It is supposed to ride well and looks to be in good condition. So I'm curious if anyone has a decent idea of the value, year, and model? Would this be a top of the line sorta road bike for Trek? How much of the bike looks original?

Also they say it is a 48cm with a 29" standover. My current vintage road bikes are 21" Schwinn with 31" standover. 31" is my max to stand flat and saddle is about down all the way on these bikes, so I've assumed smaller would be ok. I just don't know how much smaller. I'm about 5', 5". Curious of any opinions of fit for me with this size. I would have guessed more like a 50-52 for me. But I really just need to be able to ride it comfortably. I have a few bikes so it's just the idea of owning a nice old made in Wisconsin Trek. Bike is pretty decent drive away. Thanks.
Old 08-11-22, 05:27 PM
wrk101
Thrifty Bill

Bikes: 86 Katakura Silk, 87 Prologue X2, 88 Cimarron LE, 1975 Sekai 4000 Professional, 73 Paramount, plus more

Mentioned: 96 Post(s)
Quoted: 1236 Post(s)