Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Transition Trek 7.2FX to Gravel/Road

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-22, 04:11 PM
deano16

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have an old Trek 7.2FX that I want to transition to a drop bar/road/gravel bike. My front and rear derailleurs really suck on this bike and thinking of just purchasing some new derailleurs and road shifters to put on the new handlebars. I am a novice @ bikes and before I go and buy this stuff I want a pro to give me some guidance. I don't care about weight of the bike, just looking to transition this hybrid I don't use to a drop bar bike to use on gravel trails.

I am planning on buying a new crankset, front and rear derailleurs and shifters/brakes. Do I need to buy new brakes as well? Will road bike components fit on my frame without issue? I'll probably have a local guy install them, just starting the process of purchasing and need some guidance.

Thank you in advance for the help.

David
Old 07-27-22, 09:21 PM
Andrew R Stewart 

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Mongoose Tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder, Stewart 650B ATB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 4197 Post(s)
Liked 3,849 Times in 2,300 Posts
Trek has used different brake designs on their bike as the years go by. I assume by the "old" reference you have cable operated V brakes. Is this correct? If you have a newer model with hydraulic disks...

Mtb and road gear systems have some interchangeability and some less so combos. Rear cog count and crankset ring C-C specs are part of this challenge.