Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Where to position cadence sensor?

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Where to position cadence sensor?

Old 10-02-23, 11:29 PM
  #1  
iamLefty
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Where to position cadence sensor?

Hey guys. New to using cadence and speed sensors. Where is it best to position the cadence sensor? Can i position it anywhere on the crank arm, maybe 2 inches away from the pedal spindle? I just followed the instructions and vid and positioned it on the crank arm about an inch from the pedal spindle. I think though that itís possible the rubber rings that hold the cadence sensor can get hit when i clip out at 3 and 6 oíclock positions.
iamLefty is offline  
Old 10-03-23, 01:20 AM
  #2  
jgwilliams
Senior Member
 
jgwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 835

Bikes: Dolan Tuono 105 Di2, custom built 653 and 531 bikes with frames by Barry Witcomb, Sonder Dial XT mountain bike and a Brompton folding bike.

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked 123 Times in 88 Posts
I really don't think it matters as long as it clears the frame.
jgwilliams is offline  
Likes For jgwilliams:
Old 10-03-23, 01:53 AM
  #3  
daviddavieboy
Senior Member
 
daviddavieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Great White North
Posts: 929

Bikes: I have a few

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked 199 Times in 98 Posts
I have my wahoo one attached to my shoe as I have multiple bikes and don't want to invest in multiple sensors as well of possibly scratching something by misaligning.
daviddavieboy is offline  
Likes For daviddavieboy:
Old 10-03-23, 02:17 AM
  #4  
iamLefty
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by jgwilliams
I really don't think it matters as long as it clears the frame.
Great. Iíll put it in the middle then.
iamLefty is offline  
Old 10-03-23, 02:25 AM
  #5  
iamLefty
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by daviddavieboy
I have my wahoo one attached to my shoe as I have multiple bikes and don't want to invest in multiple sensors as well of possibly scratching something by misaligning.
Where on the shoe do you place it? And can you also put the cadence sensor on a running shoe? Iíd like to know my cadence when i run.
iamLefty is offline  
Old 10-03-23, 06:46 AM
  #6  
pdlamb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: northern Deep South
Posts: 8,621

Bikes: Fuji Touring, Novara Randonee

Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2440 Post(s)
Liked 1,756 Times in 1,099 Posts
My big feet tend to rub logos off cranks, and I've also scrubbed the O-rings (lost one sensor, caught the next one). So I put them close to the crank axle, where they're slightly protected from my shoes.
pdlamb is offline  
Old 10-03-23, 07:42 AM
  #7  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 2,120

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked 1,089 Times in 627 Posts
Originally Posted by daviddavieboy
I have my wahoo one attached to my shoe as I have multiple bikes and don't want to invest in multiple sensors as well of possibly scratching something by misaligning.
i have the same one and could never get it to work when mounted on my shoe. once i moved to the crank arm all was well.
spelger is offline  
Old 10-03-23, 08:02 AM
  #8  
iamLefty
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by pdlamb
My big feet tend to rub logos off cranks, and I've also scrubbed the O-rings (lost one sensor, caught the next one). So I put them close to the crank axle, where they're slightly protected from my shoes.
Iíll put mine around the middle of the crank arm, that should be safe from the shoe accidentally hitting it.
iamLefty is offline  
Old 10-03-23, 09:57 AM
  #9  
Iride01 
I'm good to go!
 
Iride01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 14,149

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5838 Post(s)
Liked 4,456 Times in 3,072 Posts
It may not be as big an issue as it once was. But I'd think the brand and model of cadence sensor might make a difference. So if you want to be certain, tell us what brand and model you have. The older sensors that used a magnet had to be positioned within a few mm of a mark on the sensor.

Actually you should just read the instructions, follow them and not have to make a post that gets you my possibly somewhat rude answer! <grin>
Iride01 is offline  
Old 10-03-23, 01:41 PM
  #10  
daviddavieboy
Senior Member
 
daviddavieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Great White North
Posts: 929

Bikes: I have a few

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked 199 Times in 98 Posts
Originally Posted by iamLefty
Where on the shoe do you place it? And can you also put the cadence sensor on a running shoe? I’d like to know my cadence when i run.
Originally Posted by spelger
i have the same one and could never get it to work when mounted on my shoe. once i moved to the crank arm all was well.
I attach it to the laces closest to the toes and have been using it this way for a few years now with road, MTB and my touring shoes. On the wahoo app it will work for running as well but have not had any luck using it for other apps.




Last edited by daviddavieboy; 10-03-23 at 01:49 PM. Reason: spelling
daviddavieboy is offline  
Likes For daviddavieboy:
Old 10-03-23, 09:14 PM
  #11  
iamLefty
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by daviddavieboy
I attach it to the laces closest to the toes and have been using it this way for a few years now with road, MTB and my touring shoes. On the wahoo app it will work for running as well but have not had any luck using it for other apps.



Iíll try that next time i run. As for the sensor on the crank arm, i was able to try it while riding. It is ok after all where it is. I usually clip out at 12 and 3 oíclock position. I rarely clip out at the 6 oíclock position on the non-drive side.
iamLefty is offline  
Old 10-04-23, 02:23 AM
  #12  
jgwilliams
Senior Member
 
jgwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 835

Bikes: Dolan Tuono 105 Di2, custom built 653 and 531 bikes with frames by Barry Witcomb, Sonder Dial XT mountain bike and a Brompton folding bike.

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked 123 Times in 88 Posts
Originally Posted by daviddavieboy
I have my wahoo one attached to my shoe as I have multiple bikes and don't want to invest in multiple sensors as well of possibly scratching something by misaligning.
Interesting. I assumed that it needed to rotate. Clearly not, for your one, at least.
jgwilliams is offline  
Old 10-04-23, 02:29 AM
  #13  
daviddavieboy
Senior Member
 
daviddavieboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Great White North
Posts: 929

Bikes: I have a few

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked 199 Times in 98 Posts
Originally Posted by jgwilliams
Interesting. I assumed that it needed to rotate. Clearly not, for your one, at least.
I thought as well but it I am sure I saw it in the instructions when I bought it. After all it comes with a mount to attach it to the laces.
daviddavieboy is offline  
Old 10-04-23, 06:03 AM
  #14  
jaxgtr
Senior Member
 
jaxgtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 6,683

Bikes: Trek Domane SLR 7 AXS, Trek CheckPoint SL7, Trek Emonda ALR 6, Trek FX 5 Sport

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 685 Post(s)
Liked 1,519 Times in 902 Posts
Originally Posted by daviddavieboy
I attach it to the laces closest to the toes and have been using it this way for a few years now with road, MTB and my touring shoes. On the wahoo app it will work for running as well but have not had any luck using it for other apps.



That is where I have mine and it works like a champ. My shoes have the boa straps, but same concept.
__________________
Brian | 2023 Trek Domane SLR 7 AXS | 2023 Trek CheckPoint SL 7 AXS | 2016 Trek Emonda ALR 6 | 2022 Trek FX Sport 5
Originally Posted by AEO
you should learn to embrace change, and mock it's failings every step of the way.


jaxgtr is offline  
Old 10-04-23, 07:35 AM
  #15  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 2,120

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1044 Post(s)
Liked 1,089 Times in 627 Posts
Originally Posted by daviddavieboy
I thought as well but it I am sure I saw it in the instructions when I bought it. After all it comes with a mount to attach it to the laces.
it was there. i recall seeing it to. just could never get it to work properly. it would detect motion but the cadence was all over the place.
spelger is offline  
Old 10-04-23, 09:15 AM
  #16  
KerryIrons
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 876
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 457 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 563 Times in 312 Posts
Originally Posted by iamLefty
Hey guys. New to using cadence and speed sensors. Where is it best to position the cadence sensor? Can i position it anywhere on the crank arm, maybe 2 inches away from the pedal spindle? I just followed the instructions and vid and positioned it on the crank arm about an inch from the pedal spindle. I think though that itís possible the rubber rings that hold the cadence sensor can get hit when i clip out at 3 and 6 oíclock positions.
The farther out the crank arm the sensor is, the faster it is moving and therefore the less time it is "in the zone" for it to register. This used to be an issue both for cadence and speed sensors, but technology has improved and so it is rarely a concern. But if by chance you have problems with it registering, moving it closer to the crank axle might help.
KerryIrons is offline  
Old 10-04-23, 09:29 AM
  #17  
iamLefty
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked 13 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by KerryIrons
The farther out the crank arm the sensor is, the faster it is moving and therefore the less time it is "in the zone" for it to register. This used to be an issue both for cadence and speed sensors, but technology has improved and so it is rarely a concern. But if by chance you have problems with it registering, moving it closer to the crank axle might help.
Thanks for this info. Will keep this in mind. I havenít really tested the speed and cadence sensors out on a ride yet since itís been raining here. Just around the street to see if they work.
iamLefty is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.