Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

Moving 7.5 FX Components to a Crosscheck?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-11, 04:21 PM
IP Freely

Bikes: 2011 Felt F5, 2013 Kona Jake (stolen)

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi guys,

I'm tiring of the 7.5FX that I've been using for about 8 months of urban commuting. It's the 2010 model with Deore LX components and an Octalink crank. Stock except for some dual platform pedals and a bontrager rear rack.

I'm looking for a new project and considering building up a Crosscheck for commuting duty. Aside from ditching the trigger shifters for brifters (I'd like drop bars on the crosscheck), would most of my components be movable onto the crosscheck frame? I'm specifically concerned about the BB/crank, but would also appreciate any knowledge you guys have on the rack, cassette, derailleurs, etc. If this project is going to turn into buying an entire new bike, I might put it to bed. Whatever happens, I will not be keeping the SSR wheels and Bontrager hard case tires.

Thanks!
Old 12-04-11, 04:46 PM
ryanwood

Bikes: surly cross check

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
it should be an easy swap, the compact double crank should fit just fine. The Cross-Check is an awfully heavy rig compared to a 7.5, especially if you are going to outfit it with all of the typical commuter accoutrements. Sounds like a fun project, I love my Cross-Check as my go-to commuter.
Old 12-04-11, 04:58 PM
IP Freely

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts