Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Where to install a spacer?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-14, 08:51 PM
BROOKLINEBIKER

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 7 Posts

Hi everyone,
I am a novice at bicycle maintenance and seeking some advice from the forum. I own a 2004 K2 Zed Sport, which is my winter/ city/ beater bike. I am looking to install a Shimano CS-HG50 free hub on a 26 X 1.5 wheel, along with a 7 speed 12-28T cassette. My local bike shop gave me a spacer to install without guidance on how to install it. Sheldon Brown has a write up explaining the need for a spacer but does not explain how to install the spacer that I could see. Youtube does not show how to install this (that I could see).How exactly is the spacer to be placed? Where does it go relative to the hub and the cassette?
Thanks!
Neil
Old 02-24-14, 09:06 PM
hueyhoolihan

Bikes: 8 ss bikes, 1 5-speed touring bike

Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts
i believe the CS-HG50 is a cassette not a freehub. soooo.... i think you may mean you are installing a CS-HG50 Cassette on your rear Shimano hub. if so, and i'm sure i'll be corrected if i am in the least bit wrong about this , any spacer should go on before the cassette. so it's spacer, cassette, lockring. i think.

i'm not trying to be pendantic, it's just that you COULD be attempting to install a new freehub on your rear wheel hub shell, and that would be different. good luck.

BTW, if you can't start the lockring with the spacer installed, just leave it off. and then, if the lockring bottoms out before the cassette is tight, in addition to being a very unlucky person, you probably need a thinner spacer.