Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Newbie in need of your bicycle wisdom

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-19, 03:55 PM
Mr.NoWheels

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hey guys & gals! Im totally new to the biking world and dont really know much about it, other than I rode a mongoose when i was 12 . So im looking to get a decent set of wheels to get me to and from work. As of right now its just for transportation and perhaps a leisurely cruise around the neighborhood. So what brands should I check out? How much should I be ready to spend? What advice would you pass to a rookie like myself?
Likes For Mr.NoWheels:
Old 11-26-19, 04:12 PM
rollagain
Lopsided biped

Bikes: 2017 Day 6 Cyclone (the Buick); 2015 Simcoe Deluxe (the Xebec); Street Strider 3i (the not-a-bike); GreenSpeed Anura (the Black Swan)

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked 160 Times in 97 Posts
We need to know more. Are there steep hills? Bad pavement? Inclement weather? What physical condition are you in?

I wouldn't worry so much about brands, but do figure out what features you want first. Get some idea of, for instance, what kind of tires will work for you, what kind of riding position you want, how much you'll want to haul on it. Then you can start shopping.

Oh, and don't ask us how much you should spend, or someone will come along and say you can't get anything for less than a thousand or more. ;-)
Likes For rollagain:
Old 11-26-19, 04:44 PM
TiHabanero

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Quoted: 1745 Post(s)
Liked 1,370 Times in 719 Posts