Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg)
Reload this Page >

Post your Clyde Carbon photos

Search
Notices
Clydesdales/Athenas (200+ lb / 91+ kg) Looking to lose that spare tire? Ideal weight 200+? Frustrated being a large cyclist in a sport geared for the ultra-light? Learn about the bikes and parts that can take the abuse of a heavier cyclist, how to keep your body going while losing the weight, and get support from others who've been successful.

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-09, 02:50 PM
Herbie53

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 485 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Proof clyde's can ride carbon and it doesn't explode.

2008 Scattante CFR (cheap carbon -- less than $1,300 on sale), 61cm, 18.4lbs as shown less the trunk and Garmin. I started riding it about a year ago at 245#, currently 215#. Used for club rides, races, and other longer weekend stuff mostly. About 2k miles so far.

Clyde Updates
  • Cane Creek Volos XL wheelset (best upgrade)
  • Dura Ace 7800 Crank and Enduro BB (second best upgrade) -- FSA SLK not so clyde friendly
  • Thompson Seatpost -- lighter than the stock carbon one and zero setback for fit
  • Shimano carbon handlebar with less drop ("compact" I think)
  • Specialize Taupe 143 saddle (came with a 127mm -- not so good for my clyde sit bones)

Old 08-30-09, 02:57 PM
youcoming

Bikes: ParleeZ5/Parlee Chebacco/Trek Farley/Cannondale Slice/Burley Tandem

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 4 Posts
Trek 5.5 Madone, 17lbs with pedals and cages, size 58,bontrager racexlite wheels, conti gp4000 tires, Sram Force 53-39 11-26, selle italia gel flow saddle. This bike has been a blast to ride. Stiff yet compliant, I know it's hard to discribe but that's all I can say, climbs like a dream and so smooth to ride.
Old 08-30-09, 03:40 PM
kwduffy02

Bikes: 2000 Specialized Hardrock Sport, 2008 Specialized Roubiax Elite, 1970's Murray 10 Speed

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)