Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets
Reload this Page >

There's competition in the radar market

Notices
Electronics, Lighting, & Gadgets HRM, GPS, MP3, HID. Whether it's got an acronym or not, here's where you'll find discussions on all sorts of tools, toys and gadgets.

There's competition in the radar market

Old 07-15-22, 09:37 PM
  #1  
Seattle Forrest
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Seattle Forrest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 23,152
Mentioned: 84 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18502 Post(s)
Liked 10,279 Times in 5,847 Posts
There's competition in the radar market

https://cyclingtips.com/2022/07/bryt...nd-tail-light/
Seattle Forrest is offline  
Old 07-16-22, 03:48 AM
  #2  
Polaris OBark
ignominious poltroon
 
Polaris OBark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 1,937
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1108 Post(s)
Liked 1,601 Times in 894 Posts
Originally Posted by Seattle Forrest View Post
Comments section says price will be Ä129, which I think is about $129 at the moment. So slightly better than the comparable Garmin even when on sale. A better price and (claimed) longer battery life sound like good options, even if it sounds like an Italian police department.
Polaris OBark is offline  
Old 07-16-22, 05:16 AM
  #3  
OshkoshBiker
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 77

Bikes: DB Haanjo Comp, Trek 1.2, Murray MTB, Framed Minnesota 2.0, Top Fuel 8

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 6 Posts
Iíve been impressed with the value of Brytonís stuff. They seem to have good quality and user experiences.
OshkoshBiker is offline  
Old 07-16-22, 09:04 PM
  #4  
Troul 
:D
 
Troul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mich
Posts: 5,937

Bikes: RSO E-tire dropper fixie brifter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 2,067 Times in 1,386 Posts
9 hours has my attention. The mount option kinda sucks though. A flat mount (ie: to a flat surface on a rack) would be a nice option.
__________________
-Oh Hey!
Troul is offline  
Old 07-16-22, 09:26 PM
  #5  
tempocyclist
Senior Member
 
tempocyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 531

Bikes: 2002 Trek 5200 (US POSTAL), 2020 Canyon Aeroad SL

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked 412 Times in 205 Posts
Plus another one from Magene (although it may be harder to buy outside of Asia).

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2022/07/...dar-units.html

I'll be waiting for a side-by-side full test by either Ray or Shane Miller, but at the end of the day will probably just buy the Garmin one.
tempocyclist is offline  
Old 07-22-22, 07:04 PM
  #6  
The Chemist
Senior Member
 
The Chemist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Shanghai, China
Posts: 810

Bikes: 2011 Giant FCR3500 // 2008 Dahon Boardwalk

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked 303 Times in 152 Posts
Originally Posted by OshkoshBiker View Post
Iíve been impressed with the value of Brytonís stuff. They seem to have good quality and user experiences.
They do. I have both a Rider 420 and a Rider 750 and I love them both. Bought the 750 so I could get a Varia otherwise I'd probably still just have the 420, but the 750 is (or at least was when new) the cheapest GPS available with a touch screen. Great battery life, extremely configurable, very easy to use. No complaints at all.

If I didn't already have a Varia I'd almost certainly consider this new Bryton radar.
The Chemist is offline  
Likes For The Chemist:
Old 08-23-22, 05:34 PM
  #7  
tempocyclist
Senior Member
 
tempocyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Australia
Posts: 531

Bikes: 2002 Trek 5200 (US POSTAL), 2020 Canyon Aeroad SL

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked 412 Times in 205 Posts
tempocyclist is offline  
Old 08-23-22, 06:54 PM
  #8  
WheresWaldo
Ride it like you stole it
 
WheresWaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Union County, NC
Posts: 4,992

Bikes: 2012 Cannondale EVO Ultegra Di2, Pedal Force Aeroblade, Rue Tandem

Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Is the Bryton mount basically the Garmin mount turned 90į? I couldn't find that info on any of the online previews.
The Magene mount is the Garmin varia mount, or so it seems.
__________________
"Never use your face as a brake pad" - Jake Watson
The Reloutionaries @ Shapeways
WheresWaldo is offline  
Old 08-24-22, 04:59 AM
  #9  
Troul 
:D
 
Troul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mich
Posts: 5,937

Bikes: RSO E-tire dropper fixie brifter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 2,067 Times in 1,386 Posts
Originally Posted by tempocyclist View Post
does the Magene L508 pair with all common models of bicycle computers? Garmin Wahoo etc
__________________
-Oh Hey!
Troul is offline  
Old 08-24-22, 06:41 AM
  #10  
gpburdell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked 196 Times in 130 Posts
Originally Posted by Troul View Post
does the Magene L508 pair with all common models of bicycle computers? Garmin Wahoo etc
Product page lists compatible bike computers as Garmin 130, 130P, 520, 520P, 530, 820, 830, 1000, 1030, 1030P and Wahoo Bolt & Roam

The reality of how well that actually works remains to be seen.

Last edited by gpburdell; 08-24-22 at 06:44 AM.
gpburdell is offline  
Old 08-24-22, 08:13 AM
  #11  
Troul 
:D
 
Troul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mich
Posts: 5,937

Bikes: RSO E-tire dropper fixie brifter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 2,067 Times in 1,386 Posts
Originally Posted by gpburdell View Post
Product page lists compatible bike computers as Garmin 130, 130P, 520, 520P, 530, 820, 830, 1000, 1030, 1030P and Wahoo Bolt & Roam

The reality of how well that actually works remains to be seen.
I read that it supports the later 2 devices, nothing for the original. Unless it's tying the Roam (bigger unit) with the original after a firmware update?
__________________
-Oh Hey!
Troul is offline  
Old 08-24-22, 08:42 AM
  #12  
gpburdell
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Georgia
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 234 Post(s)
Liked 196 Times in 130 Posts
Originally Posted by Troul View Post
I read that it supports the later 2 devices, nothing for the original. Unless it's tying the Roam (bigger unit) with the original after a firmware update?
Presumably if the device properly broadcasts the ANT+ Radar Device profile, then any computer which can interpret that profile should work with it.
gpburdell is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.