Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

New Build - Frame Up - need advice on how to buy GroupSet

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Old 09-15-21, 10:00 AM
returnoftheyeti

Bikes: Tarmac

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked 46 Times in 19 Posts

So because why not, I have decided I am going to build a bike from the frame up. This is a fantastic idea, except for the fact that I have no idea how to do this. I have a disk bike frame, with a BSA bottom bracket. Now I need a groupset. I need EVERYTHING. So my question is... how to I "narrow" down my groupset choices? I don't need to "cheap" out on this build, but its my first build, and the frame is inexpensive, so I don't really want / need Ultrega... I looked for Sora, but apparently those are hard to buy? I find a lot of packaged groupsets, but they all seem to have rim brakes?

Are there any recommended sites I should be looking at, is this going to be an Ebay thing? How can I tell a "legit" site from a .. not so great one...

I really think a Tiagra 4720 is going to be the sweet spot, what do you think ?
Old 09-15-21, 10:24 AM
HillRider

Bikes: '96 Litespeed Catalyst, '05 Litespeed Firenze, '06 Litespeed Tuscany, '20 Surly Midnight Special, All are 3x10. It is hilly around here!

Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Quoted: 2026 Post(s)
Liked 1,095 Times in 741 Posts
Try Jenson USA, Nashbar and Performance for decent prices and selection. I would have recommended a couple of UK dealers but they aren't able to ship any Shimano items to the US.