Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Winter Cycling
Reload this Page >

Marathon Winters Not Satisfactory in Snow - Suggestions?

Search
Notices
Winter Cycling Don't let snow and ice discourage you this winter. The key element to year-round cycling is proper attire! Check out this winter cycling forum to chat with other ice bike fanatics.

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-10, 12:17 AM
kmcrawford111
50/50 Road/eBike Commuter

Bikes: Specialized Roubaix, Specialized Fatboy, Specialized Sirrus, Nashbar Campus, Taga 2.0 Trike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hello friends,

I'm still relatively new at winter cycling, and bought my first set of studded tires two years ago. I went with Marathon Winters. I'm very happy with how they handle on ice, but lately they have been disappointing in snow - even shallow snow, and even at 30 PSI. The bike I've been using is a Swobo Dixon. This is the first year using the studs on this bike - in the previous two years I was using an 8 year-old Mongoose MTB. It's not clear if changing the bike decreased my snow-biking ability, but I don't see how it could (much). A single stud is missing on the front tire, but that's all. Rutted, crusty ice/snow is the worst and often un-ride-able.