Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Early Brifter Bikes - 7,8, and 9 Speed
Reload this Page >

Finding group set for 1999 Jamis Aurora

Search
Notices
Early Brifter Bikes - 7,8, and 9 Speed Not vintage, not new, but still loved!

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-21, 07:07 AM
hiimpaul

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I bought a 1999 Jamis Aurora on Craigslist a couple weeks ago with the intent of getting the components upgraded and using as a touring rig. It’s had a lot of miles put on it and the drivetrain, brakes and wheels are all nearing the end of their life(according to LBS). It is totally rideable now.

I’m a general newb when it comes to technical bike knowledge so when I took it into an LBS, I was surprised when they told me how much money/time it would cost to even find the components to be able to put a new drivetrain on it. The current stuff on the bike is Shimano RSX triple components and apparently pretty outdated.

The way LBS explained it is: it’s possible to replace the group set with functioning parts that aren’t Shimano RSX, however doing so would result in compatibility issues (LBS used the phrase “compatibility nightmare”) with how all the parts would interact..

Does anyone have experience with switching out components in a situation like this?

How possible would it be to replace the components with more modern components that are more available in today’s bike parts market?

Ideally I’d like to get this all done over the next month or so in a shop. Is this wishful thinking?

Last edited by hiimpaul; 06-30-21 at 07:50 AM.
Old 06-30-21, 11:36 AM
icemilkcoffee 

Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Quoted: 1557 Post(s)
Liked 1,733 Times in 973 Posts
the drivetrain, brakes and wheels are all nearing the end of their life