Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Carbon with the feel of steel??

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 09-01-21, 04:19 PM
gregario

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

I've been riding a custom steel road bike (Seven Axiom) for many years now. The components are Dura-Ace 9 speed and my lowest gear is 39 x 24 and I think I can go maybe one tooth lower. As I'm getting older (60 in a month) I'd like more compact gearing plus I'd like a frame that has better tire clearance and lighter than steel. I have 25mm on the rear and 23mm on the front. So, I'm thinking about a new bike with compact gearing, and possibly disc brakes for better tire clearance. My riding style is go fast all the time, no coasting, don't stop and smell the flowers, try to set a new personal best on every ride, etc. I also ride solo if that matters. The stock geometry that works for me aligns more with an "endurance" frame, not a "racing" frame, thus the custom steel. I'd rather have a agile, responsive fast bike than a more possibly plodding ride. Stock carbon bikes that would sort of fit me would be a Specialized Roubaix for example and a Trek Domane. The problem is this: my first choice for a carbon bike upgrade was the Roubaix, but none could be had in my size for months and months. The local shop had a Domane SL6 that they said would work for me so I bought it. Well, it sucked. The bike was a dog and a dead one at that. I did four rides on it for about 125 miles and it (or I) was slow and uninspiring. After those four rides I went back to my Seven and was blown away by the difference in ride quality. The Seven had that springy steel ride quality that the Domane just did. not. have. Since the shop owner