Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

Titanium - lugs and tubes?

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Search this Thread

Old 11-14-21, 04:28 PM
timiji

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Hi all, total noob here… not a welder. I know Ti is TIG welded to keep it “pure”… wondering if you can build a Ti bike with lugs or if inert gas makes that a no no?

thanks, -tim
Old 11-14-21, 05:40 PM
unterhausen
Randomhead

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 3,696 Times in 2,517 Posts
Welcome to the forum

Back before TIG welding became acceptable for bike frames, some people oven brazed titanium with lugs. So it is doable. It's just that there is no point.
Pino Morroni main

Last edited by unterhausen; 11-14-21 at 05:43 PM.
Likes For unterhausen:
Old 11-14-21, 05:44 PM
timiji

Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Why is there “no point”?
I’m interested in a Ti frame… I’m interested in lugs… know anyone who would do it?
Old 11-14-21, 06:06 PM
Andrew R Stewart 

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Mongoose Tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder, Stewart 650B ATB

Quoted: 4201 Post(s)
Liked 3,857 Times in 2,305 Posts
Originally Posted by timiji
Why is there “no point”?
I’m interested in a Ti frame… I’m interested in lugs… know anyone who would do it?

Well since you opened the door... why not you? it might take a few years to learn and stumble enough to get it right enough to be safe.

One might be able to 3D print or weld up TI lugs (and others have done this) then join to TI tubes with an adhesive. I think you'll find more carbon tubed examples though.