Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Adjusting old Simplex derailleur?

Search
Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-07, 09:01 AM
TheFool

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi, I'm really new to bikes (so my general understanding, and terminology, is probably off a bit), but want to see if I can get an old bike fixed up that I got for a song at a yard sale. It's a Motorbécane Mirage.

The first thing I've done s far is replace the cable for the rear derailleur, the old cable was broken. It's a Simplex derailleur. I found a few old posts in this forum, most say "get a new derailleur" Maybe I'll end up doing that but my goal in this project is to learn by some experience and frustration about bike repair and maintainence. I.e. i'd rather spend time than money in this case.

After putting on the new cable, the pulleys on the derailleur were too close to the sprocket, i.e. it was dragging on it in the lowest gear. After searching in vain for the nonexistant B screw adjustment, I studied it more closely and tried twisting the larger nut that's behind the derailleur (thin, between the pulleys and the derailleur body), which fixed the angle. But now there's poor tension on the chain and the chain slips. Maybe I screwed it up, or loosened the other end (where it attaches the hanger).

Anyway, my question is, anyone know what the correct way to adjust the angle is? Are there any resources out there for this bike/these parts, or French parts in general, maybe a site that has some of the manuals/instructions?

Thanks!
Old 10-14-07, 09:38 AM
Retro Grouch 

Bikes: Catrike 559 I own some others but they don't get ridden very much.

Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Quoted: 1572 Post(s)