Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum
Reload this Page >

indieVelo - A new competitor online platform

Search
Notices
Indoor & Stationary Cycling Forum From spin to Zwift to Peloton, this forum is dedicated to any and all indoor training on stationary bikes

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-23, 05:40 AM
himespau 

Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4225 Post(s)
Liked 2,945 Times in 1,804 Posts

People have asked about different alternatives to Zwift/RGT/MyWhoosh/etc.

A new one has opened in public beta (yesterday, I believe).

It's called indieVelo and can be found and https://indievelo.com
(one of my teammates noted that the name sounds a lot like "in development" and we wondered if that was just a temporary, pun-based name until they came up with something better, but, George, the guy making the game was like, "what? Oh, I never noticed that."

I've been using it (mainly for racing) for the last 2-3 months while it's been in private beta (so was under an NDA and couldn't comment when people asked about Zwift alternatives in the past).

It's got some pros and cons. As I said, I've mainly used it for racing, so my comments will mainly focus on that (I've used it a bit for pace partner group rides or free rides - mainly in race warm ups - and haven't tried the training plans at all).

Unlike in Zwift, you can't just blast around corners at full speed. You either have to slow down or it autobrakes you (and then shifts you to a further out line if you keep trying to put out power - which can still be an effective strategy if you are trying to do a long sprint through a corner 4-500 m before a finish line and everyone else slows for the corner). The braking around corners takes some getting used to, but it's an interesting concept - and one that Zwift seems to be considering adopting as well.