Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

I crashed my fixie. What do I do with it?

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-23, 02:21 PM
oship

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 2 Posts

Title tells the story! I crashed my IRO fixie (steel frame, flip hop hub, I think the model is Mark V) a couple months ago. I’ve since bought a new bike and am looking to sell the fixie to make space, but I don’t know whether to sell it for parts, sell it as a project bike, take it to a bike shop, or make some repairs and sell it used. I’ll attach photos to my profile (I’m a newbie and can’t post URLs/pics, but try this: bikeforums dot net/g/picture/28743786). To my untrained eye, the bike currently has the following characteristics:

Cons:
  • Dented rear rim
  • Snapped rear brake lever
  • Scuffed seat, bar grips, front fork
  • Seized seat post (from previous owner, shame on me for not checking before buying used)
Pros:
  • Frame and forks are structurally sound
  • Front wheel in good condition and spins true
  • Tires hold air
  • Brake pads new
  • Generally a cool bike B-)

Is it totaled? Is it valuable? I understand the IRO frame has a following, but the seized seat post and stickers might make it unmarketable. Any thoughts are welcome!
Old 04-19-23, 03:30 PM
JohnDThompson 
Old fart

Bikes: Several, mostly not name brands.

Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Quoted: 3583 Post(s)
Liked 3,395 Times in 1,929 Posts
Pic assist: