Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Electric Bikes
Reload this Page >

Cannondale Tesoro Neo X2

Search
Notices
Electric Bikes Here's a place to discuss ebikes, from home grown to high-tech.

Cannondale Tesoro Neo X2

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-22, 06:55 PM
davidjaxson

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 17 Times in 8 Posts
Cannondale Tesoro Neo X2

I ordered a Tesoro Neo X2 from REI and picked it up today. It was assembled by REI with whom I have always been pleased.

I took an initial test ride through the neighborhood and when pedaling the bike the motor noise is very noticeable. Maybe I should say the noise coming from the mid mount motor area is very noticeable. I am new to the e-bike world so possibly my concern is unfounded but I had assumed that while pedaling the motor would be relatively quite. I have seen others on e-bikes and never recall hearing such noise. Does anyone have experience with the Bosch Performance Line mid mount motors? I am guessing the best course of action is to return it but wanted to make sure that noise from the drive area is not the norm.

Thanks.
Old 05-06-22, 07:05 PM
fooferdoggie 

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 680 Post(s)
Liked 948 Times in 555 Posts
yes bosch motors make noise. only a Brose motor will be quieter like you found on a specialized bike. its not a big deal you get used to it. brose has a belt that needs replaced bosch is sealed but has more gears. there have not been a recall on a bosch system yet. hub motors can make more noise but they all make some noise. wet nI went from a gen 2 bosch powered bike to a 4 gen it was like man thats loud but it was just different. I think a Shimano motor is quieter but I dont know for sure.

Last edited by fooferdoggie; 05-06-22 at 08:18 PM.
Old 05-07-22, 09:47 AM
2old

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 882 Post(s)
Liked 821 Times in 620 Posts