Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fitting Your Bike
Reload this Page >

Advice on stem length experiments

Notices
Fitting Your Bike Are you confused about how you should fit a bike to your particular body dimensions? Have you been reading, found the terms Merxx or French Fit, and don’t know what you need? Every style of riding is different- in how you fit the bike to you, and the sizing of the bike itself. It’s more than just measuring your height, reach and inseam. With the help of Bike Fitting, you’ll be able to find the right fit for your frame size, style of riding, and your particular dimensions. Here ya’ go…..the location for everything fit related.

Old 05-16-22, 04:14 PM
nPn

Bikes: 2007 Kona Cinder Cone, 2012 Raleigh Revinio 3.0

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 6 Times in 4 Posts

I recently acquired a size 54 2010 Roubaix Comp. This is not my first road bike, I have been riding regularly for many years. My other bikes are a size 56 2012 Revenio and a size 56 2020 Broam. I recently had this "new" bike fitted and I think it feels pretty good position wise, but I think it feels a little twitchy. By twitchy I mean I fell a little less confident taking a hand off the bar to say, indicate I am about to make a turn. Also I don't feel as confident with higher speed descents. It could all just be in my head since I know the stem was sized a little shorter then the stock stem would have been (75mm vs 100mm). I am hoping this is just in my head and I will get used to but if not I may try using a longer stem to see if that helps.