Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Which bike should I choose? Need quick help

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-21, 11:39 PM
Tobias_MTB

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post

Hello everyone,

I’m new to mountainbiking and therefore looking for a little advice regarding a new bike.

I’ve been offered a Trek Top Fuel 9.9 (Carbon) from 2013 with full Shimano XTR gear group, that haven’t been used that much, for what seems to be a GREAT price.

Seeing that it is an older bike however the original gear system is 27-speed and the wheel size is 26” and I’m therefore wondering if it would just be better to go for a cheaper alternative (new bike) with 12-speed and 27,5” which I think would be my preferred wheel size?

I do not have the option to purchase a high end full suspension bike as a new bike, so this “old” Trek is really talking to me :-)

Need help fairly quickly considering that I only have today to consider the Trek bike, before he will sell it elsewhere!

Thanks in advance
Old 09-15-21, 06:23 AM
Maelochs

Bikes: 2015 Workswell 066, 2017 Workswell 093, 2014 Dawes Sheila, 1983 Cannondale 500, 1984 Raleigh Olympian, 2007 Cannondale Rize 4, 2017 Fuji Sportif 1 LE

Mentioned: 144 Post(s)
Quoted: 7649 Post(s)
Liked 3,469 Times in 1,832 Posts
If you are new to mountain-biking it is very unlikely that an older high-end bike would hold you back at all.
I bought a 2007 Cannondale--24 speeds, 26" wheels--but it also had a full Fox Float suspension, and was in superb condition. The bike has capabilities way beyond what I need .... and maybe won't ever need.