Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

Seat tube and head tube - torque specifications

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

Seat tube and head tube - torque specifications

Old 09-01-22, 07:57 AM
  #1  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,849

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked 464 Times in 273 Posts
Seat tube and head tube - torque specifications

Does anyone know the torque specifications for the following? The integrated seat post in my Aerolight and the head tube/stem? I've done some searching online and I cannot find the information. I also contacted the bike shop and they are not getting back to me, so I am at a loss.




The stem is an EVO Monocoque ACR
The headset is FSA ACR

Thank you for your help.
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 09-01-22, 08:39 AM
  #2  
alcjphil
Senior Member
 
alcjphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 5,306
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1532 Post(s)
Liked 1,207 Times in 718 Posts
The top cap bolt is only tightened until play is taken out of the headset after which the pinch bolts are tightened to the correct torque
alcjphil is offline  
Old 09-01-22, 08:40 AM
  #3  
Barry2 
LRP=HR
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,599

Bikes: Holdsworth 1979 Special, C-dale 1993 MT3000 Tandem & 1996 F700CAD3, Cervelo 2022 R5 & 2018 R3, JustGo Runt, Ridley Oval, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked 795 Times in 461 Posts
Have you tried BH directly?

Barry
Barry2 is offline  
Old 09-01-22, 09:24 AM
  #4  
Barry2 
LRP=HR
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,599

Bikes: Holdsworth 1979 Special, C-dale 1993 MT3000 Tandem & 1996 F700CAD3, Cervelo 2022 R5 & 2018 R3, JustGo Runt, Ridley Oval, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked 795 Times in 461 Posts
OK, OK, I broke down and went and looked for you.....

HERE YOU GO

It's the number one hit when Googling BH EVO Mono ACR Stem instructions
The instructions actually state not only the Torque figures but.... "
Do not go above maximum torque rating printed on the stem."
I suspect you'll find it on the Stem if you look, it's usually hidden underneath.


Captain Obvious signing off
Barry2 is offline  
Old 09-01-22, 09:27 AM
  #5  
cxwrench
Senior Member
 
cxwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 3,704

Bikes: lots

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1910 Post(s)
Liked 2,825 Times in 1,445 Posts
As posted above there is no torque setting for the top cap. The stem clamp bolts are most likely 5.0-5.2nm like nearly other stem on the planet that uses M5 bolts. I have no idea about the seat post, but I'd remove it from the frame and see if there's anything printed on the post itself.
cxwrench is offline  
Likes For cxwrench:
Old 09-01-22, 09:08 PM
  #6  
NoWhammies
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
NoWhammies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,849

Bikes: Argon 18 Gallium, BH G7, Rocky Mountain Instinct C70

Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 754 Post(s)
Liked 464 Times in 273 Posts
Thanks everyone.

Barry2 Yes. Their response? Contact the shop that sold you the bike. Would be more helpful if the bike manuals on their website were not from 2017. Thanks for the link.

cxwrench & alcjphil Thank you. Any idea what the bolt under the top cap needs to be tightened to?
NoWhammies is offline  
Old 09-01-22, 09:19 PM
  #7  
Barry2 
LRP=HR
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 1,599

Bikes: Holdsworth 1979 Special, C-dale 1993 MT3000 Tandem & 1996 F700CAD3, Cervelo 2022 R5 & 2018 R3, JustGo Runt, Ridley Oval, Kickr Bike 8-)

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 620 Post(s)
Liked 795 Times in 461 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post

cxwrench & alcjphil Thank you. Any idea what the bolt under the top cap needs to be tightened to?
its in the doc!

Barry
Barry2 is offline  
Old 09-02-22, 09:51 AM
  #8  
cxwrench
Senior Member
 
cxwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 3,704

Bikes: lots

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1910 Post(s)
Liked 2,825 Times in 1,445 Posts
Originally Posted by NoWhammies View Post
Thanks everyone.

Barry2 Yes. Their response? Contact the shop that sold you the bike. Would be more helpful if the bike manuals on their website were not from 2017. Thanks for the link.

cxwrench & alcjphil Thank you. Any idea what the bolt under the top cap needs to be tightened to?
You're talking about the expander right? As Barry posted, that torque spec is in the document he linked...look it up.
cxwrench is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.