Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Bike Locks/Bike Theft

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Bike Locks/Bike Theft

Old 03-23-22, 08:27 AM
aggieian

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Bike Locks/Bike Theft

Hello all! I am a engineer currently working with a team of students to develop a new bike lock/anti theft bike. I was wondering what experiences you guys have had with bike theft/locks for some research. Thanks!
Old 03-23-22, 08:59 AM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Quoted: 6163 Post(s)
Liked 4,780 Times in 3,298 Posts
Just make something that will defeat a battery powered angle grinder with a cut off wheel. Good luck on the project. I was in a group that had to come up with a simple trash compactor.
Likes For Iride01:
Old 03-23-22, 09:03 AM
gpburdell

Quoted: 236 Post(s)
Liked 196 Times in 130 Posts
More specific questions might be helpful in getting the answers you seek.

Some folks have had bikes stolen, some have not. Some incidents are thefts of opportunity, some are specifically targeted.

All locks can be defeated by a sufficiently motivated thief. An inexpensive battery operated angle grinder with cutoff wheel will go through most anything a bicyclist is willing to carry with them. Passers-by aren't necessarily a deterrent.

Lots and lots of info on youtube.

Last edited by gpburdell; 03-23-22 at 09:12 AM.
Likes For gpburdell:
Old 03-23-22, 09:13 AM
KerryIrons

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 503 Post(s)
Liked 630 Times in 352 Posts
Originally Posted by aggieian