Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Need super stable road bike

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Old 05-18-22, 11:56 AM
yesroh

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I'm 56 and ride a Specialized Roubaix. I've been cycling since 1979 but have always been weak on handling--very nervous rider, can't stand pack riding or having a lot of people around me. I used to compete, actually did 40K in under 57 minutes, about 60 races in my lifetime, maybe more, but the older I get, the more nervous I get. The only time in my life I could ride no-handed was with my 40 pound rusted Schwinn.

I get nervous on downhills and crosswinds and sometimes have to sing to calm my nerves, although I do about 3000 miles a year.

So I'm thinking about replacing my Roubaix with something like a Trek Checkpoint or some road bike style that is super stable. The trail on my Roubaix is 59mm and I think the Checkpoint may be 72mm. When I look for bicycles for nervous riders I come up with fat tires, upright handlebars but I just want a super stretched bicycle that is light and fast enough to be competitive in hillclimbs.

I noticed a marked loss of confidence in 2000 when I traded my 53cm Klein Quantum for a Trek 5200. I don't know if there's a point where I can get my confidence back or if 72mm of trail will be noticeably more stable than 59mm.

I would also like a long wheelbase. My first good bicycle was a Klein Performance with a 41.1inch wheelbase and I had plenty of room to carry a full size frame pump.