Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Strava is GREAT....til it ISN'T

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Strava is GREAT....til it ISN'T

Old 08-28-19, 03:14 PM
  #1  
Ronno6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Ronno6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Deep South
Posts: 1,348

Bikes: Cannondale SR's and ST's from the '80's

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 41 Times in 19 Posts
Strava is GREAT....til it ISN'T

Syncing ride data from Garmin Connect to Strava is usually painless.
Connect your Garmin unit to the computer, and it does the rest.
Strava provides a host of interesting ride analysis.
All is well, til you make a mistake while adding notes,etc.
Once you hit that "SAVE" button, it is etched in stone....NO editing or amending possible.

Then, if you delete that ride....it's gone..FOREVER !!
You can manually enter SOME ride data, but maps and analysis cannot be be retrieved.

Period............
Ronno6 is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 03:26 PM
  #2  
Elvo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,682
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 586 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 310 Times in 172 Posts
Just reupload it from Garmin Connect
Elvo is offline  
Likes For Elvo:
Old 08-28-19, 03:29 PM
  #3  
shelbyfv 
Senior Member
 
shelbyfv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 9,227
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2604 Post(s)
Liked 2,917 Times in 1,547 Posts
There are some things you can edit. For example, if you forget to "finish" and it records your drive home. Plus anything you've written or added, like photos, can be edited.
shelbyfv is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 03:32 PM
  #4  
Ronno6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Ronno6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Deep South
Posts: 1,348

Bikes: Cannondale SR's and ST's from the '80's

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 41 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by Elvo View Post
Just reupload it from Garmin Connect
I just tried that....no success....
Strava will queue you that yu have a new ride ready for viewing, then say that it cannot be found.
Ronno6 is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 03:32 PM
  #5  
Ronno6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Ronno6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Deep South
Posts: 1,348

Bikes: Cannondale SR's and ST's from the '80's

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 41 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by shelbyfv View Post
There are some things you can edit. For example, if you forget to "finish" and it records your drive home. Plus anything you've written or added, like photos, can be edited.
That can do wonders for your average speed....
Ronno6 is offline  
Likes For Ronno6:
Old 08-28-19, 04:27 PM
  #6  
downhillmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1,424
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 822 Post(s)
Liked 611 Times in 316 Posts
Originally Posted by Ronno6 View Post
Syncing ride data from Garmin Connect to Strava is usually painless.
Connect your Garmin unit to the computer, and it does the rest.
Strava provides a host of interesting ride analysis.
All is well, til you make a mistake while adding notes,etc.
Once you hit that "SAVE" button, it is etched in stone....NO editing or amending possible.

Then, if you delete that ride....it's gone..FOREVER !!
You can manually enter SOME ride data, but maps and analysis cannot be be retrieved.

Period............
You make a mistake and you lose some data.
Life goes on
downhillmaster is offline  
Likes For downhillmaster:
Old 08-28-19, 06:07 PM
  #7  
Troul 
:D
 
Troul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Mich
Posts: 4,362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 1,108 Times in 796 Posts
As long as those tps reports are not compromised, everything is grand.
__________________
-Oh Hey!
Troul is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 06:42 PM
  #8  
Milton Keynes
Senior Member
 
Milton Keynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3,634

Bikes: Trek 1100 road bike, Roadmaster gravel/commuter/beater mountain bike

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2087 Post(s)
Liked 1,365 Times in 749 Posts
Originally Posted by Troul View Post
As long as those tps reports are not compromised, everything is grand.
Just make sure you use the right cover sheet. I'll send you the memo.
Milton Keynes is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 06:51 PM
  #9  
Metieval
Senior Member
 
Metieval's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,771

Bikes: Road bike, Hybrid, Gravel, Drop bar SS, hard tail MTB

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1171 Post(s)
Liked 266 Times in 187 Posts
Originally Posted by Ronno6 View Post
Syncing ride data from Garmin Connect to Strava is usually painless.
Connect your Garmin unit to the computer, and it does the rest.
Strava provides a host of interesting ride analysis.
All is well, til you make a mistake while adding notes,etc.
Once you hit that "SAVE" button, it is etched in stone....NO editing or amending possible.

Then, if you delete that ride....it's gone..FOREVER !!
You can manually enter SOME ride data, but maps and analysis cannot be be retrieved.

Period............
download or export the tcx file to your computer from garmin connect, then upload that tcx file to strava manually.
Metieval is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 07:16 PM
  #10  
teejaywhy
Senior Member
 
teejaywhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 221

Bikes: 2018 Specialized Roubaix Expert; 2018 Breezer Thunder Expert

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked 67 Times in 44 Posts
Originally Posted by Milton Keynes View Post
Just make sure you use the right cover sheet. I'll send you the memo.
Yeah... and I'm going to need you to go ahead and come in on Saturday...
teejaywhy is offline  
Likes For teejaywhy:
Old 08-28-19, 07:24 PM
  #11  
teejaywhy
Senior Member
 
teejaywhy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: AZ
Posts: 221

Bikes: 2018 Specialized Roubaix Expert; 2018 Breezer Thunder Expert

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked 67 Times in 44 Posts
I did my first ride with my new Garmin 830 on Sunday. Have it set up to automatically sync to Strava.

Anyway, just opened the ride in Strava and pressed the Edit button (pencil) and it would seem I can modify the title, description, sport, ride type, add tags, bike... add/delete photos... Not sure what the OP is wanting to edit?
teejaywhy is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 08:19 PM
  #12  
JanMM
rebmeM roineS
 
JanMM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Metro Indy, IN
Posts: 16,053

Bikes: Bacchetta Giro A20, RANS V-Rex, RANS Screamer

Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 612 Post(s)
Liked 264 Times in 171 Posts
Forgot to take my Garmin Edge 200 to a club ride last weekend. (Rare event) Had to manually enter the distance into Garmin Connect but no auto load to Strava. I got over it.
__________________
Bacchetta Giro A20, RANS V-Rex, RANS Screamer
JanMM is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 08:24 PM
  #13  
Jeremiesmith77
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked 16 Times in 8 Posts
Originally Posted by Metieval View Post
download or export the tcx file to your computer from garmin connect, then upload that tcx file to strava manually.
+1... this works!
Jeremiesmith77 is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 08:40 PM
  #14  
eja_ bottecchia
Senior Member
 
eja_ bottecchia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 5,735
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Liked 431 Times in 276 Posts
Originally Posted by teejaywhy View Post
Yeah... and I'm going to need you to go ahead and come in on Saturday...
Good grief, there are supervisors in my office just like that character. The funny thing is, they dont see themselves in that caricature.
eja_ bottecchia is offline  
Old 08-28-19, 09:26 PM
  #15  
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 14,782

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6837 Post(s)
Liked 702 Times in 447 Posts
You get what you pay for.

I pay nothing for Strava.


-Tim-
TimothyH is offline  
Old 08-29-19, 05:44 AM
  #16  
Trsnrtr
Super Moderator
 
Trsnrtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 20,138

Bikes: Giant Propel, Colnago V3, Co-Motion Supremo, ICE VTX, ICE VTX WC

Mentioned: 103 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8519 Post(s)
Liked 1,979 Times in 966 Posts
Originally Posted by Troul View Post
As long as those tps reports are not compromised, everything is grand.
Quality.
__________________
Dennis T

Where there is a will, there's a way. Where there is no will, there's an excuse.





Trsnrtr is offline  
Old 08-29-19, 05:46 AM
  #17  
Trsnrtr
Super Moderator
 
Trsnrtr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 20,138

Bikes: Giant Propel, Colnago V3, Co-Motion Supremo, ICE VTX, ICE VTX WC

Mentioned: 103 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8519 Post(s)
Liked 1,979 Times in 966 Posts
Originally Posted by Metieval View Post
download or export the tcx file to your computer from garmin connect, then upload that tcx file to strava manually.
This.

When I have a glitch, I connect my Garmin to the desk/lap top and open the activities file on the garmin and grab the TCX file for the day and then do a manual upload.

Easy, peasy and Bob's your uncle.
__________________
Dennis T

Where there is a will, there's a way. Where there is no will, there's an excuse.





Trsnrtr is offline  
Old 08-29-19, 06:20 AM
  #18  
MikeyMK
Cycleway town
 
MikeyMK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Milton Keynes, England
Posts: 1,402

Bikes: 2.6kw GT LTS e-tandem, 250w Voodoo, 250w solar recumbent trike, 3-speed shopper, Merlin ol/skl mtb, 80cc Ellswick

Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 568 Post(s)
Liked 169 Times in 117 Posts
Originally Posted by downhillmaster View Post
You make a mistake and you lose some data.
Life goes on
MikeyMK is offline  
Likes For MikeyMK:
Old 08-29-19, 06:47 AM
  #19  
Ronno6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Ronno6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Deep South
Posts: 1,348

Bikes: Cannondale SR's and ST's from the '80's

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 41 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by teejaywhy View Post
Anyway, just opened the ride in Strava and pressed the Edit button (pencil) and it would seem I can modify the title, description, sport, ride type, add tags, bike... add/delete photos... Not sure what the OP is wanting to edit?
I had done all that, as I typically do.
I wanted to edit or delete the "Indoor Training" tag, but somehow that tag got applied and the resulting display was heart rate only...no map, etc.
I was not able to edit after that, so deleted the activity and tried to start again...with no luck.

I will try the file download/upload as suggested.
Ronno6 is offline  
Old 08-29-19, 06:58 AM
  #20  
boozergut
Senior Member
 
boozergut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 287

Bikes: Kona Dew, Gary Fisher Paragon, Salsa Campeon

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked 7 Times in 3 Posts
Originally Posted by Ronno6 View Post
That can do wonders for your average speed....
How else am I supposed to get some KOM honors???
boozergut is offline  
Old 08-29-19, 07:35 AM
  #21  
Kabuki12
Senior Member
 
Kabuki12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ventura County ,California
Posts: 1,769

Bikes: 71 Stella,72 Mondia Special,72 ItalVega Grand Rallye, 73 Windsor Pro,75 Colnago Super,76 Kabuki DF,77 Raleigh Comp.GS,78 Raleigh Pro,80 Moto Gran Sprint,82 Medici Pro Strada

Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked 633 Times in 421 Posts
Originally Posted by Ronno6 View Post
That can do wonders for your average speed....
You can lead a horse to water but a pencil must be lead!
Kabuki12 is offline  
Old 08-29-19, 08:14 AM
  #22  
gregf83 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 9,202
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1185 Post(s)
Liked 286 Times in 174 Posts
Originally Posted by Ronno6 View Post
I had done all that, as I typically do.
I wanted to edit or delete the "Indoor Training" tag, but somehow that tag got applied and the resulting display was heart rate only...no map, etc.
I was not able to edit after that, so deleted the activity and tried to start again...with no luck.

I will try the file download/upload as suggested.
Every ride is stored on your Garmin as a '.fit' file in a directory called 'Activities'. The name of the file is a date and time stamp (e.g. 2019-08-28-17-56-08.fit was yesterdays ride for me starting at 5:56pm). If you plug a Garmin into the USB port on your computer the Garmin will look like a Hard drive. Activities are stored in "D:/Garmin/Activities" (the drive letter may vary). You can upload that file directly to Strava or copy it onto your computer.
gregf83 is offline  
Old 08-29-19, 08:26 AM
  #23  
Milton Keynes
Senior Member
 
Milton Keynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3,634

Bikes: Trek 1100 road bike, Roadmaster gravel/commuter/beater mountain bike

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2087 Post(s)
Liked 1,365 Times in 749 Posts
Strava works well enough for me, never felt the need to edit any of my rides unless I forgot to enter in the right bike or something. It works much better than the Runtastic app I was using before and which I no longer use due to Runtastic seemingly going defunct. They're no longer keeping any data on their website and the road cycling app is no longer being supported. So Strava it is for me 100%.
Milton Keynes is offline  
Likes For Milton Keynes:
Old 08-29-19, 08:35 AM
  #24  
Ronno6
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Ronno6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Deep South
Posts: 1,348

Bikes: Cannondale SR's and ST's from the '80's

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 41 Times in 19 Posts
Originally Posted by gregf83 View Post
Every ride is stored on your Garmin as a '.fit' file in a directory called 'Activities'. The name of the file is a date and time stamp (e.g. 2019-08-28-17-56-08.fit was yesterdays ride for me starting at 5:56pm). If you plug a Garmin into the USB port on your computer the Garmin will look like a Hard drive. Activities are stored in "D:/Garmin/Activities" (the drive letter may vary). You can upload that file directly to Strava or copy it onto your computer.
Looks like that worked!
Thanks to all!
Ronno6 is offline  
Old 08-29-19, 08:47 AM
  #25  
Wilfred Laurier
Seor Member
 
Wilfred Laurier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,052
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 633 Post(s)
Liked 278 Times in 203 Posts
I used to use Strava on my phone to track my rides, but I got a new phone that, I think due to power saving settings, would stop recording in the middle of the ride. Once when I took my phone out to check my distance, Strava re-started and calculated my speed based on the zero time it recorded since the last pint it was recording. I finished that ride with a 111km/h average LOL.

I soon after decided to stop worrying about recording rides at all and I no longer use Strava.
Wilfred Laurier is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.