Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

What to buy?

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-21, 01:20 PM
Buell77

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What to buy?

New to biking, looking at road bikes for the last few weeks and I’ve narrowed it down to a ‘74 Trek 501@$200, early 90’s KHS@$125. Both are said to be in good shape, I’m expecting to have to wrench on them a bit, am mechanically inclined so that doesn’t bother or scare me. I just don’t know much about either model, any help words of wisdom would be appreciated. Remember, I’m new to riding so please be kind...
Old 05-10-21, 01:31 PM
indyfabz

Mentioned: 211 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18409 Post(s)
Liked 15,518 Times in 7,324 Posts
You are considering a 47 year old bike? As your first bike? Did Trek even make a "501" model or does that number refer to the Reynolds tubing used?
Old 05-10-21, 01:34 PM
seypat

Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Quoted: 3241 Post(s)
Liked 2,512 Times in 1,510 Posts
Have a mod move your thread to C & V. You'll get plenty of responses there.
Old 05-10-21, 01:37 PM
mcmoose

Bikes: Trek Silque S, Bianchi Aria e-Road

Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Welcome to the wonderful world of road bikes!

Personally, I would be hesitant to buy the '74 Trek for two reasons:
First, it's old enough that it's considered a vintage bike, which is fine except it's often difficult to find parts (at a reasonable price).
Second, I'm a kind of wimpy rider, so I find the gear ratio of '70s road bikes daunting. I know I road them at the time, but I must have been stronger (and was comfortable with a much lower cadence) than I am now.