Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational)
Reload this Page >

How does it feel like to use Bar end shifters compared with STI/Brifters?

Search
Notices
Cyclocross and Gravelbiking (Recreational) This has to be the most physically intense sport ever invented. It's high speed bicycle racing on a short off road course or riding the off pavement rides on gravel like : "Unbound Gravel". We also have a dedicated Racing forum for the Cyclocross Hard Core Racers.

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-21, 10:37 PM
cherokeeronin

Bikes: SGM Charles Jerry 26er

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Good day everyone, I hope this thread is seen by people who have first hand experience using STI/Brifters and Bar end shifters.

I am contemplating to switch from Brifters/STI to Microshift's bar end shifters. But I have no experience riding barends.

The pros that I see are: less hassle in mix matching Derailleurs, if you ever fall on the bike the shifters probably wouldnt get affected just the brakes. Its common for me to see people getting their STI/Brifters scratched or broken from falls. Thats why honestly during extra long long rides, tjays what I see as a plus.

The cons that I see: you would have to reach over a bit, would probably be difficult to shift during traffic(unless you are used to it I guess), not sure if any of my local bike mechanics know how to install and/or tune them

I'm mostly the weekender cyclist, biking out with friends. But if not I'd be doing long rides, usually 50km on my average rides. The place that I live in is pretty much a city so it gets really traffic midday, but early morning and late evening the traffic is pretty much gone; and in that scenario STI/Brifters would ideally be better. (However its difficult to find budget drivetrains and an appropriate gear ratio that I need) If this barend shifterwouldnt work for me, I would be getting a Shensah SRX groupset instead.