Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Touring
Reload this Page >

Changing crank from 50/39/30 to 44/32/22

Search
Notices
Touring Have a dream to ride a bike across your state, across the country, or around the world? Self-contained or fully supported? Trade ideas, adventures, and more in our bicycle touring forum.

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-21, 02:44 PM
Phil221

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi, I'm quite new to the whole technical part of biking. Up to now I only rode them.

The problem I have is that I have to prepare my bike for my first road trip and I'm quite a bit limited by time.

My bike has a
Shimano Sora FC-R3030 50/39/30 crank
BB: Shimano Tiagra BB-RS500
FD: Shimano Sora FD-R3030-F
with a friction shifter
and at the back a Shimano Alvio 9 (11-34).

This has worked well without luggage but I'm afraid it won't work so well with luggage and hills.

I haven't found any smaller chainrings for the Sora crank but from what I have read a 44/32/22 crank should work well enough.

The only available option I found though was a Shimano Alivo FC-T4060 44/32/22 crank which I have ordered but not received yet.

In the meantime I have found out that the difference in chainline will make problems (45 old crank, 50 new).

Would be awesome if anyone of you has an idea what I could do to make this work in a short amount of time.

Thanks, Phil
Old 06-08-21, 02:46 PM
10 Wheels
Galveston County Texas

Bikes: 02 GTO, 2011 Magnum

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 1350 Post(s)
Liked 1,243 Times in 621 Posts
The 44/32/22 is mountain gearing. You will be Fine.

Likes For 10 Wheels:
Old 06-08-21, 02:50 PM
Phil221

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Originally Posted by 10 Wheels
The 44/32/22 is mountain gearing. You will be Fine.
What about the difference in chainline?
Old 06-08-21, 03:27 PM
Tourist in MSN