Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fifty Plus (50+)
Reload this Page >

Lifting my leg to dismount

Search
Notices
Fifty Plus (50+) Share the victories, challenges, successes and special concerns of bicyclists 50 and older. Especially useful for those entering or reentering bicycling.

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-18, 03:44 PM
Arthur Peabody

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked 110 Times in 66 Posts

I've been riding for 60 years. For the last year or so I've caught my right heel on the top tube when dismounting, sometimes nearly falling. I don't want to fall, so I try to remember to take care, but I've ridden about 200K miles, dismounting a few 100K times, am used to doing it automatically, and my memory is weakening, so I forget. I'm not sure whether I'm failing to lift my leg high enough (I can stand with a leg on a table, reach my hands to that foot) or not straightening my knee enough.

How can distinguish the 2? What would be good exercises? Now that I'm on Medicare, I can go to the gym on the taxpayers' dime.
Old 12-04-18, 04:02 PM
Cyclist0108
Occam's Rotor

Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Quoted: 2366 Post(s)
Liked 2,331 Times in 1,164 Posts
Lean the bike more, and/or get a dropper post.
Old 12-04-18, 04:14 PM
winston63 

Bikes: Specialized Diverge E5 Comp, Specialized AWOL Comp, Scott Solace 10

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked 27 Times in 20 Posts
I agree with the above: I have to lean the bike at a fairly ridiculous angle for both mounting/dismounting. It's not usually a problem except when I've got a loaded touring bike.

And due to my lack of flexibility and this issue, I'm very thankful for sloping top tubes!
Old 12-04-18, 04:22 PM
TimothyH
- Soli Deo Gloria -

Bikes: 2018 Rodriguez Custom Fixed Gear, 2017 Niner RLT 9 RDO, 2015 Bianchi Pista, 2002 Fuji Robaix

Mentioned: 235 Post(s)
Quoted: 6844 Post(s)
Liked 736 Times in 469 Posts
Originally Posted by Arthur Peabody