Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Training & Nutrition
Reload this Page >

Cliff Bars for on the go?

Notices
Training & Nutrition Learn how to develop a training schedule that's good for you. What should you eat and drink on your ride? Learn everything you need to know about training and nutrition here.

Old 08-11-20, 11:11 AM
CalebPlewe

Bikes: Trek 7.1 FX, Giant OCR3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 1 Post

I am new to cycling but not new to endurance exercise. In my experience, Cliff Bars have been my favorite easy to pack and sustainable source of energy. Are they commonly used by cyclists? I am planning a 290 mile ride and don't want to get caught with an upset stomach or worse.
Old 08-11-20, 11:31 AM
rubiksoval

Bikes: bikes

Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Quoted: 2622 Post(s)
Liked 1,429 Times in 711 Posts
I like poptarts.
Old 08-11-20, 11:32 AM
DeadGrandpa

Bikes: Too many, yet not enough.

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked 307 Times in 198 Posts
I used to eat Cliff bars on bike rides, until I started a new relationship with a super nutrition focused lady who consumes Macro bars instead. She said that Cliff bars have "soy protein isolate", which apparently is bad for you. I did a little research and found that it's the residual remnants of the process/solvents they use to separate out the soy protein that is the bad stuff.

Currently, I consume Lara bars, but also an amalgam of different trail mixes available at Walmart. Who knows? I'm just as happy with a bag of mini donuts, either powdered sugar or chocolate covered. I have observed some newbies vomiting on rides occasionally, and it was usually their daily meds on an empty stomach. Donuts might have prevented that.
Old 08-11-20, 12:42 PM
Iride01 
I'm good to go!

Bikes: Tarmac Disc Comp Di2 - 2020

Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Quoted: 6100 Post(s)
Liked 4,732 Times in 3,262 Posts