Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Singlespeed Conversion Help!

Search
Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-22, 02:31 AM
bikethis

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked 9 Times in 4 Posts

Hi guys,

I have a BTWIN Rockrider 540 that I am converting to singlespeed. So far, I have the sprocket and spacers ordered and the chain from Amazon. I have two main questions that I hope can be answered. I am a complete beginner at bike engineering so forgive any ignorance that may come across.

Q1. I am aware that because my bike has vertical dropouts, that I'll need a chain tensioner. How can I go about figuring out if this will attach to my bike or not? I took the rear derailleur off and it appears I may need a derailleur hanger to attach a tensioner to, or am I overthinking things?

Q2. Currently, I have the standard 3 piece crank set that came with the bike still attached. I noticed that on the middle cog, there are 32 teeth. Would it be possible to get away with just wrapping the chain around this, instead of having to order a single speed chain ring?

Thanks in advance.
Old 07-06-22, 08:03 AM
mstateglfr 
Sunshine

Bikes: '18 class built steel roadbike, '19 Fairlight Secan, '88 Schwinn Premis , Black Mountain Cycles Monstercross V4, '89 Novara Trionfo

Mentioned: 123 Post(s)
Quoted: 10947 Post(s)
Liked 7,473 Times in 4,181 Posts
1- a chain tensioner typically mounts to the same hole that a rear derailleur threads into. Just put your hanger back on the bike.