Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

Thanksgiving and the musings of a self-indulgent but grateful cyclist

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

Old 11-26-20, 09:39 AM
jleeg

Bikes: Moseman with Campy NR circa 1979, Merlin Titanium from1993 with newly installed Campy Chorus 12, Raleigh Tamland II gravel grinder, Tommassini XFire with Campy Record

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked 104 Times in 38 Posts

Not I; just feeling that way.

Happy Thanksgiving all. I'm thinking that cycling has saved your year or made it better than it would otherwise be. It factors so large in my life that it is hard to contain. This has been a +5000 mile year beginning in February when I started training for Eroica California. I'd hardly ridden in 20 years but I found love on the saddle once again! I'll be 70 on my next birthday and am winding down a good career. I've used the extra time to ride and I have dropped nearly 40lbs (from an moderately (being kind) overweight 185), and am riding as well as I ever have. I love hills, flats, riding a wheel or pulling. I like cleaning my bike, tuning it....such marvelous machines (I remember a college friend remarking about the bicycle being the best machine, so efficiently powered for the movement provided). Can it really be that cycling brings such happiness?

No, I've not dropped or toked or uncorked the Thanksgiving wine and there are people who, and life's blessings that, fall higher on the list. Especially now. But, this is a cycling forum so viva la bicycle and the ability to pedal on.

Best to you and yours. Stay safe!
Old 11-26-20, 10:51 AM
BobbyG