Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Singlespeed & Fixed Gear
Reload this Page >

Help design SS fishing/beach/cargo/commuter

Search
Notices
Singlespeed & Fixed Gear "I still feel that variable gears are only for people over forty-five. Isn't it better to triumph by the strength of your muscles than by the artifice of a derailer? We are getting soft...As for me, give me a fixed gear!"-- Henri Desgrange (31 January 1865 - 16 August 1940)

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-22, 06:43 AM
henryporter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post

Well, I've just about done it. I'm about to move from a large metro area to a rural, flat, coastal area where I'm going to use a bicycle to get to the river, marsh and beach for fishing. Half the roads are paved, half are sandy dirt roads. I've only ever had road bikes. I'm a decent mechanic in terms of building and maintaining.

Can you help with ideas for how I might put together a bike that meet these specifications?
  1. Can accommodate tires big enough for sandy roads (2.0+ inches?) -- I assume I'll need to start with an old mountain bike frame.
  2. Can be run as a single speed (horizontal dropouts or track end?) -- I really want a simple drive train for the sandy, salty environment. I'd love to avoid needing a tensioner for simplicity's sake.
  3. Has braze-ons for front and rear racks -- I'll be rigging fishing rod holders and racks to carry tackle, small cooler, etc.
  4. Has no suspension -- rigid forks keep it simple for me.
  5. Ideally, is aluminum if only to slow rust and corrosion -- but steel is fine because I realize it's very rare to find an aluminum frame to meet these specs. I FrameSaver and take good care of steel bikes.
  6. I am 6' 1" and ride road bikes with 60 cm C-T-T seat tubes and with horizontal top tubes -- I don't really know how to size for mountain bikes, hybrids or sloping top tubes.