Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Bicycle Mechanics
Reload this Page >

How to secure aerobars?

Notices
Bicycle Mechanics Broken bottom bracket? Tacoed wheel? If you're having problems with your bicycle, or just need help fixing a flat, drop in here for the latest on bicycle mechanics & bicycle maintenance.

How to secure aerobars?

Old 06-19-22, 07:12 PM
  #1  
juntjoo
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
juntjoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: SWFL
Posts: 59

Bikes: Cannondale Bent 2, Fuji Royale, Mongoose Snare

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
How to secure aerobars?

What is the trick to getting accessories to clamp tight enough on your handlebars so at least your headlight and body weight upon aerobars will stay put?
juntjoo is offline  
Old 06-19-22, 07:27 PM
  #2  
spelger
Senior Member
 
spelger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: reno, nv
Posts: 1,503

Bikes: yes, i have one

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 737 Post(s)
Liked 738 Times in 435 Posts
Well, mine came the right size so they clamp pretty tight. You did measure bar diameter before you got your bars I hope.
spelger is offline  
Likes For spelger:
Old 06-19-22, 07:56 PM
  #3  
juntjoo
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
juntjoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: SWFL
Posts: 59

Bikes: Cannondale Bent 2, Fuji Royale, Mongoose Snare

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Originally Posted by spelger View Post
Well, mine came the right size so they clamp pretty tight. You did measure bar diameter before you got your bars I hope.
Yeah, mine are correct size, it's just as I've researched these, even with the more expensive ones there is this issue. So far I've gathered as with mine, the threaded holes for the bolts are the same weak aluminum material the bars are made of making their stripping threshold below the point of adequate tightening, so one should get new longer bolts with nuts to secure them in place of the bar's material, or as I'm considering rethreading them with those helicoil inserts.

So before I try that I'm just fishing for feedback x extra ideas. I'd even be willing to drill into the handlebars if someone did that but then I'd need to figure out how to drill into steel or whatever they're made out of with a hand drill.
juntjoo is offline  
Old 06-19-22, 08:17 PM
  #4  
Andrew R Stewart 
Senior Member
 
Andrew R Stewart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 16,400

Bikes: Stewart S&S coupled sport tourer, Stewart Sunday light, Stewart Commuting, Stewart Touring, Co Motion Tandem, Stewart 3-Spd, Stewart Track, Fuji Finest, Raleigh Pro, Trek Cycle Cross, Mongoose tomac ATB, GT Bravado ATB, JCP Folder

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3489 Post(s)
Liked 2,248 Times in 1,447 Posts
Please whatever you do, DON'T drill the bats. And then hide the hole with a covering aero bar clamp so you can't see the crack develop

The aero bars I have worked with pretty much all didn't have the bar clamping ability to resist a lot of aero bar rotational levering. This is one reason why the elbow/forearm pads are usually fairly close to the handle bar (lessening the leverage they place on the bar clamp). When riding on them one "shouldn't" be working their arms in a manor to rotate the aero bars.

There are a number of reasons why I dislike aero bars and their being far more able to rotationally slip is one, not the biggest reasons but still quite important to the rider if they insist in riding in a manor that causes the bars to slip and not being able to work through that should it happen.

There are also aero bar/handle bar combos that eliminate the clamp, the two sets of bars are one unit. If you find one that fits the bike and your needs it might be the best next step. Andy
__________________
AndrewRStewart
Andrew R Stewart is offline  
Likes For Andrew R Stewart:
Old 06-19-22, 08:34 PM
  #5  
alcjphil
Senior Member
 
alcjphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked 974 Times in 590 Posts
Originally Posted by Andrew R Stewart View Post
Please whatever you do, DON'T drill the bats.
I assume that Andy was advising you not to drill holes in your handlebars. I agree wholeheartedly
Don't do that
alcjphil is offline  
Likes For alcjphil:
Old 06-19-22, 08:59 PM
  #6  
base2 
Doesn't brain good.
 
base2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 2,087

Bikes: 5 good ones, and the occasional project.

Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1112 Post(s)
Liked 758 Times in 451 Posts
26.0mm vs 25.4.
There is a huge difference.
Use a proper shim.
__________________
My lights are obscenely bright because drivers are dim.

I shouldn't have to "make myself more visible;" Drivers should just stop running people over.
base2 is offline  
Old 06-19-22, 09:55 PM
  #7  
juntjoo
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
juntjoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: SWFL
Posts: 59

Bikes: Cannondale Bent 2, Fuji Royale, Mongoose Snare

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Andrew R Stewart View Post
Please whatever you do, DON'T drill the bats. And then hide the hole with a covering aero bar clamp so you can't see the crack develop

The aero bars I have worked with pretty much all didn't have the bar clamping ability to resist a lot of aero bar rotational levering. This is one reason why the elbow/forearm pads are usually fairly close to the handle bar (lessening the leverage they place on the bar clamp). When riding on them one "shouldn't" be working their arms in a manor to rotate the aero bars.

There are a number of reasons why I dislike aero bars and their being far more able to rotationally slip is one, not the biggest reasons but still quite important to the rider if they insist in riding in a manor that causes the bars to slip and not being able to work through that should it happen.

There are also aero bar/handle bar combos that eliminate the clamp, the two sets of bars are one unit. If you find one that fits the bike and your needs it might be the best next step. Andy

Thank you! You just filled in a lot of gaps there in my understanding of these things. Yeah, two pieces only makes way more sense but sacrifices adjustability but perhaps worth it. I bet the ones I found on ebay were og this type. Forget the brand off hand but it's was like all of them when you just search "aero bars". Some guys name or something. I may check them out. I've got these Amazon ones though and I really like their shape so I'll look into this a bit more B4 deciding
juntjoo is offline  
Old 06-19-22, 10:05 PM
  #8  
juntjoo
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
juntjoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: SWFL
Posts: 59

Bikes: Cannondale Bent 2, Fuji Royale, Mongoose Snare

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Come to think of it, just by looking at the pic I posted, these shouldn't incur too much forward rotational influence from my weight. I think grab some new hardware and try it out.

If I match the original bolts(that thread into back of aluminum)threads with longer bolt/nuts combos I think they won't be able to strip so long as the nuts are harder right? And then I read everyone using loctite. I wonder if could just use those nylon fitted nuts for the same effect.


​​​​
juntjoo is offline  
Old 06-19-22, 10:56 PM
  #9  
Crankycrank
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,028
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked 607 Times in 461 Posts
I'm going to take a wild guess and say that clamping over your bar tape might be the issue. Clamp should be on a bare surface.
Crankycrank is offline  
Likes For Crankycrank:
Old 06-19-22, 11:34 PM
  #10  
juntjoo
Newbie
Thread Starter
 
juntjoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: SWFL
Posts: 59

Bikes: Cannondale Bent 2, Fuji Royale, Mongoose Snare

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Originally Posted by Crankycrank View Post
I'm going to take a wild guess and say that clamping over your bar tape might be the issue. Clamp should be on a bare surface.
I thought about that but want to try first with it in case I can keep it there in case 8 return these
juntjoo is offline  
Old 06-20-22, 01:43 PM
  #11  
alcjphil
Senior Member
 
alcjphil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 4,995
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1392 Post(s)
Liked 974 Times in 590 Posts
Originally Posted by juntjoo View Post
I thought about that but want to try first with it in case I can keep it there in case 8 return these
If you get it tight enough to hold clamping over the bar tape you will probably tear the tape
alcjphil is offline  
Old 06-20-22, 06:05 PM
  #12  
dsbrantjr
Senior Member
 
dsbrantjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Roswell, GA
Posts: 8,253

Bikes: '93 Trek 750, '92 Schwinn Crisscross, '93 Mongoose Alta

Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1414 Post(s)
Liked 1,005 Times in 680 Posts
By clamping over the bar tape you have effectively shimmed the bar to a 2mm or more larger diameter. Do not expect that this will work well.
dsbrantjr is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.