Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Framebuilders
Reload this Page >

arc/stick welding bike frames

Search
Notices
Framebuilders Thinking about a custom frame? Lugged vs Fillet Brazed. Different Frame materials? Newvex or Pacenti Lugs? why get a custom Road, Mountain, or Track Frame? Got a question about framebuilding? Lets discuss framebuilding at it's finest.

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-21, 05:07 AM
yeyix14

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

hi all, I'm new to both frame building and welding and am wondering if arc welds are strong enough to weld up a bike frame. the main reason is the price and lack of gas as I would like a relatively compact setup. would this work okay?

thanks
Old 11-04-21, 05:57 AM
unterhausen
Randomhead

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked 3,696 Times in 2,517 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Stick is going to be a struggle. People have used MIG, particularly on the heavier sections of recumbent frames. Most welded frames are built using TIG, but that requires shielding gas.
Old 11-04-21, 08:35 AM
SkinGriz
Live not by lies.

Bikes: BigBox bikes.

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked 784 Times in 582 Posts
Originally Posted by yeyix14
hi all, I'm new to both frame building and welding and am wondering if arc welds are strong enough to weld up a bike frame. the main reason is the price and lack of gas as I would like a relatively compact setup. would this work okay?

thanks
It is possible with 3/32” 6013 on straight polarity. (Edit: maybe possible)

I have a bit of time under the hood stick welding. I had an LA city light gauge certification.

I would not recommend stick welding a bike frame. Welding is more difficult with thinner material. So beginner and thin tubing don’t go together. Stick welding gets difficult below 1/8” material thickness.

My prediction is you’re going to blow holes through the tubing.