Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Fitting Your Bike
Reload this Page >

choosing new bike size - Long legs (34" inseam) and short torso (5'9" height)

Search
Notices
Fitting Your Bike Are you confused about how you should fit a bike to your particular body dimensions? Have you been reading, found the terms Merxx or French Fit, and don’t know what you need? Every style of riding is different- in how you fit the bike to you, and the sizing of the bike itself. It’s more than just measuring your height, reach and inseam. With the help of Bike Fitting, you’ll be able to find the right fit for your frame size, style of riding, and your particular dimensions. Here ya’ go…..the location for everything fit related.

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-22, 10:01 PM
shmuelyosef

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked 4 Times in 4 Posts

I have been riding the same two roadbikes for 40 years (yes...literally); both Miyatas: one is a Team Pro frame (from the 1980 Olympic builds) with extremely tight and rigid geometry, the other is a more slack (still more 'tight' than most modern bikes) Miyata 710. These have been updated with modern builds every 1-1.5 years (both were Shimano Ultegra 3x9 until a month ago when I turned the 710 into a 2x9 hill climber (30/46 with 11-34T cassette). Both bikes are nominally what used to be measured as 54cm bikes, which meant I had 13-14cm extension at the seat and short 50-60mm stems. As I look to get into a more slack geometry (I'm seriously considering a Cannondale Topstone) I'm befuddled about the geometry. As I'm an analytical sort, I've been looking at geometries to consider whether to buy:

- The small size which would require a seatpost capable of 24cm extension (Thomson makes up to 44cm posts that are fine) and possibly needing to deal with a rise on stem (particularly if they have cut the fork short to 'look cool' rather than leaving it to be fitted

OR....