Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Tandem Cycling
Reload this Page >

Best way to upgrade my brakes?

Search
Notices
Tandem Cycling A bicycle built for two. Want to find out more about this wonderful world of tandems? Check out this forum to talk with other tandem enthusiasts. Captains and stokers welcome!

Search this Thread

Old 06-15-20, 12:12 PM
Stroudy 

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts

Hey everyone,

Recent newcomer to tandem cycling here.

I want to upgrade my cantilever brakes (and possibly the drum brake) after our ride at the weekend - trying to stop on a moderate downhill was precarious!! Argh!

I was thinking my best alternative is installing V-Brakes, but what do you guys think? What are my options, for brakes and drum or hub brakes

Sorry, I would post some pics but as a newbie I'm limited for now
Old 06-15-20, 12:13 PM
Stroudy 

Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
It's an Arai drum brake btw
Old 06-15-20, 12:23 PM
Stroudy 

Liked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Oh, and I'm running 700/32 Tyres
Old 06-15-20, 01:09 PM
Alcanbrad

Bikes: '14 CoMo Carrera, '11 CoMo Primera co-pilot, '98 Santana Visa, a Plethora of road bikes, A commuter/Gravel beast (and 1 MTB)

Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Quoted: 106 Post(s)
Liked 45 Times in 38 Posts
We have cantilever brakes on our first tandem and when we moved to a very hilly area, they were definitely not enough. I added an Arai drum which helped a lot, then I replaced the canti's pads with a good quality set (It's been 15 years, but it was probably from Kool Stop at the time) which made a huge difference. If the pads are old, or of unknown origin, you might consider a set of good quality pads first. I haven't purchased pads for cantilevers since then, but for my half bikes, I only go with SwissStop. I am sure others on the forum can recommend the best options on the market today.
Old 06-15-20, 01:28 PM
reburns