Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

suspension or no?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

suspension or no?

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-13, 02:29 AM
berninicaco3

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
suspension or no?

I'm just getting into biking, I want to commute to my job 5mi away --and in the fall, to school-- instead of burning gas in my 15mpg station wagon!
I'll be getting a "comfort" bike, but was weighing the consideration of a proper road bike. A difference between the two seems to be shocks on the former, and never on the latter, and I'm curious why that is.

I know cars and am an ase master tech... for cars.
You'd never consider a car without a suspension. Stiffer suspensions help handling, that's all-- and you can't just make it infinitely stiff for the best high-speed handling. No suspension at all, just a rigid frame, and you'd lose contact with the road on 2 tires around tight turns. You want every tire in continuous contact with the road, mostly a level vehicle with equal amounts of weight on each wheel, and ideally, for every bump, the tire rides up and then back down: in one half of a cycle exactly (obviously, picking a set of shocks will always be a compromise). Bumpy roads require a softer suspension to perform, one example where a stiff racing suspension for the refined and paved asphalt track would be worse on a rally track..
Other considerations is that, say, for a drag race in a rear wheel drive car, a soft rear suspension lets all the weight transfer to the back for traction.