Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > General Cycling Discussion
Reload this Page >

lbs vs online buying

Notices
General Cycling Discussion Have a cycling related question or comment that doesn't fit in one of the other specialty forums? Drop on in and post in here! When possible, please select the forum above that most fits your post!

lbs vs online buying

Old 03-28-22, 12:17 PM
jdogg111

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 137 Post(s)
Liked 51 Times in 31 Posts
lbs vs online buying

ok. i've been using the same lbs for 12 yrs. purchased thousands of dollars worth of various things, work on bikes, parts. etc and never once have gotten a discount from them. i liked the idea of supporting local businesses but over time, my feelings have changed. the shop workers are rude, condesending and obnoxious, and not just to me. i've seen them be the same way with others. like they can't be bothered. after a recent tube purchase where the tube i bought blew within 50 feet after i put it on, i decided to take it back after making sure the offending blow-out wasnt' in the same spot as the tube that had ruptured the first time. it wasnt' close. the new tube was near the valve stem, the old one blew half way around the tire. i just wanted to make sure the defect wasn't bad rim tape. spokes, etc . the shop wouldn't give me a new tube, claimed it was the bikes fault. thats when i decided to forgo bike shops in favor of online buying. i get discounts, and timely shipping by just planning a bit in advance. do i feel guilty about abandoning the bike shop. no. i tried, but i also want to be treated as a valued customer, which i was not. i know, especially on here that support for lbs is strong, and thats fine if you have a good one. i don't have a good one, so i don't feel as if i should have an obligation to support someone who doesn't appreciate it. thanks for letting me vent.
Likes For jdogg111:
Old 03-28-22, 12:18 PM
indyfabz

Mentioned: 211 Post(s)