Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Commuting
Reload this Page >

What do you do for a living?

Search
Notices
Commuting Bicycle commuting is easier than you think, before you know it, you'll be hooked. Learn the tips, hints, equipment, safety requirements for safely riding your bike to work.

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-08, 12:14 PM
tnath0522

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I am curious as to what type of jobs everyone has and how your job fits into your commuting lifestyle.

I am an accounting manager for a large soft drink company in Tampa. My employer does not offer bike rack/storage and we do not have showers. They even took my two hangers that I left in the bathroom supply closet that I use to hang my sweaty bike clothes. Guess I will start hanging them in my cube! They even prohibit me using a personal fan to cool off with after I ride.

I think its time to look for a new job.
Old 08-07-08, 12:20 PM
Indie

Bikes: 1976 20" folding Triumph Trafficmaster

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Technical support for consumer software. It's a small office, occupied by myself, the office manager (who also bikes frequently), and a half dozen software & content developers. We aren't all packed so closely together that we can smell each other, so it's not a huge problem if I get here sweaty. I bring a change of clothes, reapply deodorant and wash my face, and I'm good for the day.

It's a second-floor walk-up, so I carry my bike up the stairs and park it behind my desk instead of locking it outside. My commute is about 8 km (5 mi) one way.
Old 08-07-08, 12:21 PM
kk4df

Bikes: Bottecchia CF frame and fork, Ultegra 6603 crank and FD, DuraAce RD, Easton Vista wheels, Brooks B-17 saddle, Shimano 105 brakes, Michelin Pro2 Race tires

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Engineer at a paper mill; 17 mile ride each way. I lock my bike to the fence around the parking lot, just across from the guard shack and their cameras. We do have a shower with a "small" locker for my sweaty clothes.