Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Torque Wrenches - X-Tools / Venzo

Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Torque Wrenches - X-Tools / Venzo

Old 10-03-19, 07:17 AM
  #1  
eduskator
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
eduskator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 655

Bikes: TCR Advanced Pro 0 Disc

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked 130 Times in 104 Posts
Torque Wrenches - X-Tools / Venzo

Hi guys,

I was wondering if some of you owned any of the 2 torque wrenches mentioned above? If so, could you please let me know what are your thoughts? I'm looking to buy one, and have narrowed down my choices to these 2. I don't want/need anything fancy as it's only for periodic maintenance.

X-tools : on CRC - currently on sale for 45$ (MSRP 65$)
Venzo : on Amazon - 70$

Venzo says it has a 4% accuracy, which is OK. Accuracy is not specified for the X-tools.

Let me know,
Thank you.

Last edited by eduskator; 10-03-19 at 07:21 AM.
eduskator is offline  
Old 10-03-19, 12:48 PM
  #2  
Elvo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,270
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 82 Times in 46 Posts
I have the x-tools. It works great but it is not fool proof. You have to shake it back and forth about 20x to distribute the lube every time you use it. You have to be careful not to turn the handle when ratcheting the wrench. You also have to set it back to 2 nm when done.
Elvo is offline  
Old 10-03-19, 02:02 PM
  #3  
tagaproject6
Senior Member
 
tagaproject6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8,522

Bikes: Wilier Izoard XP (Record);Cinelli Xperience (Force);Specialized Allez (Rival);Bianchi Via Nirone 7 (Centaur); Colnago AC-R Disc;Colnago V1r Limited Edition;De Rosa King 3 Limited(Force 22);DeRosa Merak(Red):Pinarello Dogma 65.1 Hydro(Di2)

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 542 Post(s)
Liked 239 Times in 127 Posts
Forget the X-Tools. So disappointing. Venzo is okay. If you can get the Pro Bike Tool torque wrenches, I highly recommend it.
tagaproject6 is offline  
Likes For tagaproject6:
Old 10-03-19, 02:14 PM
  #4  
Robert A
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 628

Bikes: 2019 CAAD12, 2015 Specialized Sirrus Comp

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 26 Posts
Can you guys post links to the specific items being discussed? I'm looking for a torque wrench for my cockpit items and am considering the one from ParktTools.
Robert A is offline  
Old 10-03-19, 02:54 PM
  #5  
hefeweizen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked 18 Times in 12 Posts
I hear this one is pretty good for the $
look it up on amazon

TEKTON TRQ21101 1/4-Inch Drive Dual-Direction Click Torque Wrench (10-150 in.-lb./1.1-16.9 Nm)


Pro Bike Tool 1/4 Inch Drive Click Torque Wrench Set – 2 to 20 Nm – Bicycle Maintenance Kit for Road & Mountain Bikes, Motorcycle Multitool - Includes Allen & Torx Sockets, Extension Bar & Storage Box
hefeweizen is offline  
Old 10-03-19, 03:14 PM
  #6  
kissTheApex
Senior Member
 
kissTheApex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 993

Bikes: Yes please

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked 113 Times in 80 Posts
Originally Posted by Robert A View Post
Can you guys post links to the specific items being discussed? I'm looking for a torque wrench for my cockpit items and am considering the one from ParktTools.
For cockpit-range items, I’d recommend a beam type.

Theres one on amazon for about $23 and change. Just type in 1/4” drive beam torque wrench on amazon search box and it usually the first item that pops up. It goes up to 9 Nm, but you hardly need anything above 7Nm for cockpit items.
kissTheApex is offline  
Old 10-03-19, 06:23 PM
  #7  
RGMN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked 41 Times in 32 Posts
Originally Posted by Robert A View Post
Can you guys post links to the specific items being discussed? I'm looking for a torque wrench for my cockpit items and am considering the one from ParktTools.
For the cockpit I find the CDI TorqControl works very well and is reasonably priced.
RGMN is offline  
Old 10-03-19, 06:29 PM
  #8  
Robert A
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 628

Bikes: 2019 CAAD12, 2015 Specialized Sirrus Comp

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 33 Times in 26 Posts
Originally Posted by RGMN View Post
For the cockpit I find the CDI TorqControl works very well and is reasonably priced.
Okay, so what about this Park Tool. Obviously costs more, but maybe the difference is a higher quality product?
Robert A is offline  
Old 10-03-19, 07:09 PM
  #9  
jfranci3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
For a bike? Just get the Venzo $25 beam hex tq wrench. It's likely more accurate than the $75 clicker models.
jfranci3 is offline  
Old 10-03-19, 10:37 PM
  #10  
canklecat
Me duelen las nalgas
 
canklecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,004

Bikes: Centurion Ironman, Trek 5900, Univega Via Carisma, Globe Carmel

Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3492 Post(s)
Liked 973 Times in 649 Posts
This tiny $25 Venzo beam torque wrench is good for up to 10 nm, which covers most cockpit fasteners. Comes with most bits we'd need.

No idea about clicky preset torque wrenches for torquing over 10 nm, still shopping around and reading reviews.



Venzo beam torque wrench for up to 10 nm.

Last edited by canklecat; 10-03-19 at 10:42 PM.
canklecat is online now  
Likes For canklecat:
Old 10-04-19, 05:03 AM
  #11  
Sy Reene
Advocatus Diaboli
 
Sy Reene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Wherever I am
Posts: 5,718

Bikes: Merlin Cyrene, Nashbar steel CX

Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2843 Post(s)
Liked 320 Times in 255 Posts
SnapOn are supposed to be decent

https://shop.snapon.com/product/QD1RN6A
Sy Reene is offline  
Old 10-04-19, 08:04 AM
  #12  
WhyFi
Senior Member
 
WhyFi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: TC, MN
Posts: 28,719

Bikes: R3 Disc, Haanjo

Mentioned: 335 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12025 Post(s)
Liked 1,821 Times in 977 Posts
I've been using a Tacklife (what a horrible name) torque wrench purchased from Amazon - https://www.amazon.com/Torque-2-26-2.../dp/B07GJSP7RW

Rated at +/- 4%, comes with a little slip of paper showing the values from calibration check, gets pretty good reviews. I have a Park beam-type also, but the ratcheting is often more convenient; the Park still does get some use as a reference by which to check the Tacklife, though. I think that I've had it for about a year and a half and it hasn't discernibly drifted.
WhyFi is offline  
Old 10-04-19, 08:09 AM
  #13  
MoAlpha
• —
 
MoAlpha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Land of Pleasant Living
Posts: 5,250

Bikes: Shmikes

Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3458 Post(s)
Liked 1,001 Times in 572 Posts
I prefer beam-type wrenches, but they take a little bit of skill and knowledge to use.
MoAlpha is offline  
Old 10-04-19, 08:25 AM
  #14  
jfranci3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 12 Times in 10 Posts
Originally Posted by Sy Reene View Post
SnapOn are supposed to be decent

https://shop.snapon.com/product/QD1RN6A


Lol $300+ still gonna be less accurate than a beam tq wrench after some time.

You don’t need to spend a lot of money nor do you need ultimate accuracy.
https://www.bikeradar.com/features/t...ed_slideshow=0
jfranci3 is offline  
Old 10-04-19, 08:42 AM
  #15  
mstateglfr 
Sunshine
 
mstateglfr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 10,123

Bikes: '18 class built steel roadbike, '19 Fairlight Secan, '87 Schwinn Prelude, Black Mountain Cycles Monstercross V4, '89 Novara Trionfo, '18 Diamondback Syncr

Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3932 Post(s)
Liked 876 Times in 568 Posts
Originally Posted by eduskator View Post
I was wondering if some of you owned any of the 2 torque wrenches mentioned above?
I dont own either of the above.
Instead, I bought a $25 beam style wrench from Northern Tool. Its some generic sounding brand, im guessing their house brand. Its simple and inexpensive. All I need it for is 4 bolts on one of my bikes- the plug, the headset, and the stem. And on one of my kid's bikes its 5 bolts.
Out of the all the bolts on 14 bikes, I only need to use the tool for 9 of them, so i dont need anything small and cute or whatever- the beam wrench is used rarely since once built, there isnt much reason to pull stems or whatever.

Its as accurate as I need since it keeps bolts tight enough to not be unsafe and not so tight that damage occurs.
mstateglfr is offline  
Old 10-04-19, 08:53 AM
  #16  
eduskator
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
eduskator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 655

Bikes: TCR Advanced Pro 0 Disc

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked 130 Times in 104 Posts
Originally Posted by Elvo View Post
I have the x-tools. It works great but it is not fool proof. You have to shake it back and forth about 20x to distribute the lube every time you use it. You have to be careful not to turn the handle when ratcheting the wrench. You also have to set it back to 2 nm when done.
Thanks. Every torque wrench indeed need to be ''zeroed'' out after use - it's how you keep them accurate. Before every use, I also set mine up (I have one for cars) to the highest possible torque and back to the lowest to lube it properly. It ensures longevity.

Thanks to the others for your prompt responses as well. The Venzo beam torque wrench is supposedly ''prime'', but they charge me import fees and it's 2 weeks of shipping. I don't like to pay for extras when I already pay for a prime membership. How accurate are beam wrenches?

Last edited by eduskator; 10-04-19 at 09:02 AM.
eduskator is offline  
Old 10-04-19, 02:11 PM
  #17  
kissTheApex
Senior Member
 
kissTheApex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 993

Bikes: Yes please

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked 113 Times in 80 Posts
Not as small, but this one is the one I mentioned above

https://www.amazon.com/Neiko-03727A-...s%2C122&sr=8-2
kissTheApex is offline  
Old 10-04-19, 04:47 PM
  #18  
RGMN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked 41 Times in 32 Posts
Originally Posted by RGMN View Post
For the cockpit I find the CDI TorqControl works very well and is reasonably priced.
Originally Posted by Robert A View Post
Okay, so what about this Park Tool. Obviously costs more, but maybe the difference is a higher quality product?
Sure, we can go with that.

FWIW, CDI Torque Products is SnapOn. I found that the TorqControl wrench was more accurate and IMHO better built than my previous version of the Park wrench you linked to. It is commonly used by gunsmiths and is pretty easy to pickup cheaper than Amazon at gun shows.
RGMN is offline  
Old 10-05-19, 02:02 PM
  #19  
wipekitty
vespertine member
 
wipekitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: from sea to shining sea!
Posts: 2,388

Bikes: Yes

Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked 178 Times in 133 Posts
Originally Posted by canklecat View Post
This tiny $25 Venzo beam torque wrench is good for up to 10 nm, which covers most cockpit fasteners. Comes with most bits we'd need.

No idea about clicky preset torque wrenches for torquing over 10 nm, still shopping around and reading reviews.



Venzo beam torque wrench for up to 10 nm.
I'm a proud owner of this set as well

I've had it for close to three years, and the carbon bits on my bike have yet to snap or come loose, so it's good enough for me.
wipekitty is offline  
Likes For wipekitty:
Old 10-05-19, 03:14 PM
  #20  
canklecat
Me duelen las nalgas
 
canklecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,004

Bikes: Centurion Ironman, Trek 5900, Univega Via Carisma, Globe Carmel

Mentioned: 180 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3492 Post(s)
Liked 973 Times in 649 Posts
Originally Posted by wipekitty View Post
I'm a proud owner of this set as well

I've had it for close to three years, and the carbon bits on my bike have yet to snap or come loose, so it's good enough for me.
Ditto, no complaints or problems here. If anything using a torque wrench for low torque fasteners reminded me that I tend to under-torque rather than over. I'd only used the larger torque wrenches for motorcycles and cars. Now that I'm rebuilding my first all carbon fiber bike, a Diamondback Podium frame from a friend, pretty much from scratch (it only has the crankset, original fork and headset), I wanted to be cautious.

However I can see the convenience of the single torque setting wrenches with long bits for easily reaching some fasteners in positions that would be awkward with a beam torque wrench. Especially for a production line or shop where time is money.

But I'll probably just get a larger beam torque wrench for the rest of the bike. There's usually a way to read the beam pointer graph while working.
canklecat is online now  
Old 10-05-19, 03:32 PM
  #21  
eduskator
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
eduskator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 655

Bikes: TCR Advanced Pro 0 Disc

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked 130 Times in 104 Posts
I ended up buying the Venzo from Amazon mainly because of availability (next day shipping hehe!). Will provide my thoughts on it shortly. I need to flip my stem to raise my bars so the torque wrench will be handy!

Specs says 5.5nm for the stem bolts & 6nm for the faceplate bolt. Not sure if going 6nm on all of them will do any harm, but it might be hard to set up the torque wrench to half a nm. Will see tomorrow.
eduskator is offline  
Old 10-05-19, 04:15 PM
  #22  
Jack Tone 
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 26 Times in 20 Posts
I bought a Kestrel in the box and it came with a similar tool as the Venzo beam wrench above. I also stuck a chart like this:

Torque Conversion Chart Newton Meters to Inch Pounds | AutoDrill

on the wall near my tool chest for my 1/4" clicker wrench. But not trusting either too much, I bought the Park adjustable torque wrench :

https://www.amazon.com/Park-Tool-ATD...63315758&psc=1

that's super handy.
Jack Tone is offline  
Old 10-07-19, 06:58 AM
  #23  
eduskator
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
eduskator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 655

Bikes: TCR Advanced Pro 0 Disc

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 297 Post(s)
Liked 130 Times in 104 Posts
So I tried the Venzo torque wrench yesterday when I installed my parts back after flipping my stem. You need to be careful when tightening the screws - it will not ''click'' if you go too fast & will over tighten. Once you figure that out, everything is OK. The wrench came with a certification of accuracy and looks well built. I have no complaint whatsoever on the quality.
eduskator is offline  
Old 10-07-19, 11:23 AM
  #24  
Elvo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 4,270
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 416 Post(s)
Likes: 0
Liked 82 Times in 46 Posts
I had the venzo at one point and while it worked great, it was a real pain in the butt to see the dials at certain points
Elvo is offline  
Old 10-07-19, 11:58 AM
  #25  
ab_antiquo
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked 24 Times in 16 Posts
Originally Posted by eduskator View Post
Thanks. Every torque wrench indeed need to be ''zeroed'' out after use - it's how you keep them accurate.
This is simply not true. The Silca Ti Torque does not need to be reset or zeroed out after every use.

https://silca.cc/products/updated-t-...-ti-torque-kit
ab_antiquo is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.