Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Chest/Shoulder Pain - Do I need a new stem?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-12, 09:18 AM
h8rhrtr

Bikes: 2007 Giant OCR 1

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hello everyone,

Long time browser, first time poster. Great forum, I know I'll get sound, knowledgeable advice...

So... I'm new to road cycling. I just purchased a used Large Giant OCR 1, about 3 or 4 years old. It currently has a 100 mm stem installed. I am about 210 lbs, and 6'2", maybe closer to 6'3". i have really long arms (I wear a 36-37 in dress shirts), and my inseam is 33-34.

When I purchased the bike, the guy at the shop where I bought it fitted me to it, and said it fit fine, and my lower body does feel fine. The seatpost is pretty high, and the saddle just about all the way back. However, I've ridden the bike a few times around a 10 mile bike trail around my area, and I am experiencing a lot of fatigue in my chest and shoulders after about mile 6 or 7. My legs feel great, but my arms can't take it, so I only do one loop.

My questions are:
  1. Is it normal to experience chest/shoulder fatigue after only 7 miles?
  2. Could this be a fitting issue, or should I just HTFU?
  3. If it is a fitting issue, should I consider a different (longer and/or more upright) stem?

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Old 07-26-12, 09:21 AM
cvall91

Bikes: Cannondale SuperSix

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts