Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Mountain Biking
Reload this Page >

Best puncture resistant 29'er tyres?

Search
Notices
Mountain Biking Mountain biking is one of the fastest growing sports in the world. Check out this forum to discuss the latest tips, tricks, gear and equipment in the world of mountain biking.

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-12, 09:47 PM
Weetbix

Bikes: 07 Trek 520

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Hi all,

New to the MTB forum specifically, normally spend my time over in the touring forum but felt this is more appropriate here.

So next year I'm doing the Tour d'Afrique (https://www.tourdafrique.com) and for the trip I am taking my Merida big nine TFS-XT 29'er. For the on-road sections I plan on taking some schwalbe marathon plus touring tyres because I have used in them in the past with 100% success rate at avoiding punctures.

However I have zero experience when it comes to MTB tyres. Schwalbe only make the marathon plus up to 26' MTB and I'm looking for some real nobbly tires for the really rough stuff that I know awaits me.

I'm wondering if anyone can recommend some good 29er tyres that have great puncture reistance. Rolling reistance, weight, speed etc is not of concern to me, however the fewer punctures I have to deal with the better as far as I can see.

Any information would be greatly appreciated. When it comes to tubeless tyres I would prefer not to go down that route if there are good non-tubless tyres out there that have great puncture reistance.

Thanks!
Old 10-11-12, 08:55 AM
ColinL
Two-Wheeled Aficionado

Bikes: Santa Cruz Blur TR, Cannondale Quick CX dropbar conversion & others

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked 5 Times in 5 Posts