Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Will mashing make you faster/stronger?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-13, 08:44 PM
cnguyen0320

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

So, it seems to be general consensus that mashing the pedals is bad and spinning is good. As a newbie, I tend to agree that mashing makes me tired faster and spinning lets me go for hours. But I've never seen this addressed: will mashing (during training) create stronger legs and therefore the ability to spin in a higher gear? To me, it seems like it obviously should but whenever someone mentions going 60rpm, even in training, people say "no! that's bad!".

Going fast, especially up hill, is a largely dependent on power. I just don't see how continuously spinning 90rpm increases your power. To me, it would certainly increase your stamina at 90rpm but since your not microtearing your strength muscles (to rebuild and get stronger), how does that increase power?
Old 10-15-13, 08:53 PM
squatchy
squatchy

Bikes: S-works Roubaix, S-works Tarmac, Gary Fisher Promethius, Tommasini Competion, Eddy Merckx Corsa 01

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts