Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling
Reload this Page >

Long distance/potential racing purchase advice, want Madone. Naive? Other suggestions

Search
Notices
Long Distance Competition/Ultracycling, Randonneuring and Endurance Cycling Do you enjoy centuries, double centuries, brevets, randonnees, and 24-hour time trials? Share ride reports, and exchange training, equipment, and nutrition information specific to long distance cycling. This isn't for tours, this is for endurance events cycling

Long distance/potential racing purchase advice, want Madone. Naive? Other suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-09, 02:38 PM
DCRider84

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Been a long time since I was a newbie somewhere. I rode my first century a couple weeks ago and got hooked. I bought a Trek 1000 58cm for $200 off of Craigslist here in DC a couple years ago and rode the Century with that with no clips or actual jersey. Surprised myself by riding it in better time than my friends who trained 3x longer and had all the clips and jerseys and gear...made me wonder what I could do with a decent road/racing bike and all the gear to go along with the hobby.

Before riding the century, I trained for 5 weeks, and before that had never ridden longer than 20 miles in any given time. Now I'm addicted. Being from Wisconsin, I have an allegiance to Trek. I want the best I can afford, and that seems to be a low end Madone at the moment...so a few questions:

1) I want a bike that is light. My current Trek feels like concrete compared to a Madone I fell in love with at the shop a few weeks ago. I can see myself doing several Century rides a year from the flat Seagull, to more hilly climbs like Tahoe or the Philly Livestrong (based on what my friends have done).