Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Road Cycling
Reload this Page >

Any body find any DI-2 Bikes with hydraulic disc brakes?

Search
Notices
Road Cycling “It is by riding a bicycle that you learn the contours of a country best, since you have to sweat up the hills and coast down them. Thus you remember them as they actually are, while in a motor car only a high hill impresses you, and you have no such accurate remembrance of country you have driven through as you gain by riding a bicycle.” -- Ernest Hemingway

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-14, 08:17 AM
Jackmen

Bikes: 2014 Giant defy advanced 0 with DI-2, 2013 Blue Triad TT Bike, 2015 Fuji Altamira CX 1.3 Gravel Bike

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

I have been riding a CF Monocoque framed DI-2 bike for 2 years with deep carbon wheels and I love the set up except the braking. As you are aware carbon rims and braking are just not areal good combination. squeaks, modulation and pulsing, bad in wet conditions, etc.

I feel the solution long term is definitely hydraulic disc brakes. I have them on my 29er and they are awesome. In researching availability, there are not very many available with them in a road frame. With the new shimano R785 brakes with the shimano brifters set up for the hydraulics, they have got great reviews by everybody I have read.

I see them as the ultimate solution as you can run deep light carbon wheels and not worry about the rim brake interface. This will allow you to get very reasonable wheels and not have to worry about them. (welcome relief from over priced zipps at 2800 a set).

What I have found is because shimano really just started shipping them at the first of the year, very few bike manufacturers adopted them. Hopefully some secondary brands will adopt them to give us more selection. All the bikes appear to be very pricey. Here's what I found with both discs and the shimano DI-2, which I now regard as a necessity: