Go Back  Bike Forums > Bike Forums > Hybrid Bicycles
Reload this Page >

What can this bike take?

Search
Notices
Hybrid Bicycles Where else would you go to discuss these fun, versatile bikes?

What can this bike take?

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-17, 08:12 AM
Kevsumac

Bikes: Cannondale Quick 3 disc Hybrid, Bontrager Privateer Mountain bike

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What can this bike take?

I'm new to Hybrids as I have mostly rode "Mountain" bikes from the likes of Walmart. I've been logging more and more miles and decided it was time to get a nice bike and I decided on a Hybrid. I got a Cannondale Quick 3 disc. It is crazy cool. Aluminum frame, carbon fork, internal cable routing, and HYDRAULIC disc brakes. What I did not know about these bikes is that I would feel every crack in a sidewalk. I'm getting these descriptions from their website and am not sure exactly what they are, the rims are : DC3.0 Disc, double wall, 32-hole and the tires are : Schwalbe Spicer, 700x30c, puncture protection. Now I'll mostly be riding on a paved bike trail but would like to ride around town and to work as well. I've already ridden to work and it's on a bike path that's an overblown sidewalk with ramps up and down at every cross street. These ramps feel like I'm beating the crap out of my bike. Am I doing this bike an injustice by riding it on such surfaces? Can the tires handle it? The carbon forks too? If I have to totally baby this bike and only ride it on glass-like surfaces then I'll regret the $1000 investment. I understand that this bike is not for off road use but Cannondale billed it "With lightest-in-class weights, bright reflective graphics and a smooth, stable ride, the Quick is the fast, fun way to get fit or get around town." And I did test ride it but that was on smooth asphalt. Thanks in advance for your responses!
Old 09-28-17, 08:46 AM
raqball

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)